Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 10:13 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Nordyne G6RA096C-16


Hi:
The furnace flames on, inducer runs, but the air blower does not start and yellow led flashes continuously. Wiring diag suggests that sensor detects a weak signal. What voltage should i be looking for across the sensor? Further the blower does not start at Fan ON from thermostat. Could it be locked out for sometime?
Thanks

charli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:52 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,042
Rewards Points: 3,748
Default

Furnace Nordyne G6RA096C-16


Might have a bad capacitor or blower motor, or control board. Check to see if board is sending voltage to the motor.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
charli (01-20-2013)
Old 01-20-2013, 07:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Nordyne G6RA096C-16


I had jumpered R to G (Fan ON) and there is no voltage across white to any of the three wires. Also continuously checked on auto after flame on for more than 30 secs - no voltage. I guess the board is history. Forgot to check: but if the three amp fuse on board is burnt than i suppose there would be no power (no red light)? A stupid quest: How much and where can I buy a board in Toronto? Again thanks a lot for the reply.
charli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:28 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,042
Rewards Points: 3,748
Default

Furnace Nordyne G6RA096C-16


Not from your area so no idea where you can buy it there.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace Nordyne G6RA096C-16


Quote:
Originally Posted by charli View Post
I had jumpered R to G (Fan ON) and there is no voltage across white to any of the three wires. Also continuously checked on auto after flame on for more than 30 secs - no voltage. I guess the board is history. Forgot to check: but if the three amp fuse on board is burnt than i suppose there would be no power (no red light)? A stupid quest: How much and where can I buy a board in Toronto? Again thanks a lot for the reply.
I wouldn't get a board yet. Sounds like a dirty flame sensor. I don't know of any way to test the sensor, it only has one wire so there's no way to read across it. The way it works is the flame sensor is charged with AC voltage, that voltage converts to DC when it passes through a flame. Your board senses DC voltage and if it sees any DC voltage it knows there must be a flame. What tends to happen is that sensor gets dirty & doesn't pass enough voltage to the board.

And I wouldn't put much stock into your readings at the board as it looks like you aren't testing it right. Sounds to me like you're saying you jumpered R to G then checked R to G, G to W & W to R and read zero volts. That DOES NOT mean there is no voltage to those terminals. R has 24v all the time, you jumpered that to G so now G has 24v. W is the heat call from your stat being that you say it's trying to light your getting a call for heat, so W almost surely has 24v too. So I'd imagine all terminals have 24v. If you check across 2 terminals that both have 24v your meter will read 0v. The way to check is from common to all 3 terminals if you don't read 24v then you don't have power.

What I'd do is pull & clean the sensor. It's really easy & can be tried before you order parts & usually fixes gthe problem. What you're looking for is a metal rod that sticks in front of one of your burners. It should be on the opposite side as your ignitor. Usually just one screw holds it in place, remove the screw, pull out the rod brush with wire brush or something similar. Stick it back in & try relighting.
JScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JScotty For This Useful Post:
charli (01-21-2013)
Old 01-21-2013, 02:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Nordyne G6RA096C-16


Hi: Sorry about my earlier short reply. I had cleaned the flame sensor, started furnace. Inducer started, flame came on, yellow led on but air blower would not run. After about 30 secs furnace trips out. After confirming the 24Vdc at R terminal i put tstat on fan - blower wont run. To eliminate bad tstat possibility I then jumpered R to G (fan ON)-- still no run. Took off motor plug and measured for 120Vac across neutral and each pin - no voltage. Then removed the board and saw it was burnt at the back of relays area. Could not locate a board however a tech came, checked and offered to replace it (he had a new board). Furnace is up and running. Thanks to all. Great forum (helped also to solve an A/C problem some years ago).
charli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:21 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Furnace Nordyne G6RA096C-16


you test electrical current in microamps through the flame

simply remove the sensor, use a dish souring pad and scrub it a few times, re-install it making certain the rod sits in the flame, make sure the electrical connections to and form the flame sensor are tight and clean and also make sure the system's high voltage 120 volts to the furnace as well as the control board have a solid and clean ground wire attached and hooked up.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 03:22 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Furnace Nordyne G6RA096C-16


oops, I didn't see the op's last post.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nordyne Gas furnace won't stay lit MB1 HVAC 7 11-20-2013 05:45 AM
Gas Furnace Replacement Questions mark2741 HVAC 31 01-17-2013 01:15 AM
Gas Furnace Hiccups hugocraft HVAC 2 12-22-2012 07:50 AM
Propane Furnace - Diminishing Gas Supply After Ignition edro HVAC 9 01-13-2012 05:24 PM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 02:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.