Furnace Needs To Push More Air - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-18-2011, 12:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace needs to push more air


I have a Trane XE90 working in conjunction with an outdoor wood boiler. Due to poor ducting when the house was built, air flow from vents is terrible. I can barely feel air coming from most spots of the house and it takes forever for the place to warm up.

My 1/3hp blower motor just blew out and I need to replace it. Would it be beneficial to upgrade to 1/2hp with more RPM or is that not advised? Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
Mark

Advertisement

phatsupratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 12:54 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Furnace needs to push more air


isn't that motor a multi speed motor? that doesn't mean it changes speeds on it's own during a call for heat, it means that it has different speed taps so manually you can adjust to low or medium low, medium high and high on that motor. high is usually used in cooling and low on heating so if it is a multi speed than you can move the speed up from low to medium low and get more air velocity in heating mode, if it is on low speed and has speed taps.

Also I'd check all of the duct work for leaks, exposed liner/broken insulation and possible kinks in the ducts.

Advertisement

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 01:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace needs to push more air


Thanks for the reply, Doc. Yes, it is multi speed and I have it on the highest setting (black wire).
phatsupratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 02:07 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Furnace needs to push more air


Instead of adding to the frankenstien that is your system byway of putting in a different motor, I'd fix the real problem, duct work.
It'll never be right until then, no matter what else you do, me thinks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 02:12 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Furnace needs to push more air


New r6 or r8 insulated duct work and better insulation for the home.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 02:41 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace needs to push more air


either the ducts are leaking at the joints or it is too diffused maybe size down he worst

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 06:01 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 07:42 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 02:12 PM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 11:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts