Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 06:38 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

furnace limit switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyheat View Post
No need for the wisecracks in here-I have no use for them people. They just take up space...
Ok, so nothing to do with the limit switch.Auto side not working-manual is...
As I mentioned-call for heat not working, So I began again.
I solved it myself. The problem was the transformer.. it was shorting out. Replaced it for $12....Now, no problem... All works as it should.Thanks to biggles, rep, and how, to put me on the right path.
Thank you for updating us on how you made out.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 06:40 PM   #17
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnace limit switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Lennox retro circa 1960's.
Get the torches
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 06:42 PM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

furnace limit switch question


Actually they have the heat exchanger on the 3rd one at our local Lennox distributor, cleaned up and painted nice and silver. Brings back bad memories of removing those old beasts and 200 to 250 gallon oil tanks up narrow stairs in the early 80"s when we got rid of most of our oil and I was strong and smart like Bull.
Attached Images
 
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 05:50 PM   #19
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnace limit switch question


Last company I work for service Lennox furnace's that are 50 years old and still running. Customer will not replace it because heat going out of it is very hot and takes care of old Victoria homes. I do remember working on one back then and my jaw dropped. I was afraid it was going to blow up on me.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tator1076 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (02-17-2012)
Old 02-17-2012, 06:10 PM   #20
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,500
Rewards Points: 516
Default

furnace limit switch question


I have a 55 year old armstrong low boy that side by side efficiency tests by myself and UEI have pegged at 82%. One of those scary units that feeds the vent back through the hot and return air plenum on it's way to the chimney.
Yes I check that vent yearly.
Cheap, quiet & trouble free for the 15 years I've been here.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (02-17-2012)
Old 02-18-2012, 06:08 AM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

furnace limit switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by how View Post
I have a 55 year old armstrong low boy that side by side efficiency tests by myself and UEI have pegged at 82%. One of those scary units that feeds the vent back through the hot and return air plenum on it's way to the chimney.
Yes I check that vent yearly.
Cheap, quiet & trouble free for the 15 years I've been here.

Don't confuse combustion efficiency with AFUE efficiency.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (02-18-2012), yuri (02-18-2012)
Old 02-18-2012, 12:08 PM   #22
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,500
Rewards Points: 516
Default

furnace limit switch question


Beenthere..

Partypooper

Not confusing anything. AFUE never graced my post. Just responding to the previous post about another oldie but was pointing out that mine burns amazingly clean, has a second heat exchanger and is even older.
Our industry stands on the dogma that new is better, which coincidently is the veiwpoint that pays most of our morgages. From my perch, things are not so black & white and I try to remember that most dogma is a poor substitute for the not so common, common sense.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 12:20 PM   #23
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

furnace limit switch question


It also helps that you live in a VERY moderate climate so efficiency is not a big deal. It has got to the point that the gas co who used to do a lot of free basic repairs here won't touch conversion burners in old boilers so like it or not those are going to have to be replaced. Obsolesce gets to everything and everyone. My young techs have never worked on a millivolt system and likely won't get the chance as they are pretty well obsolete. You cannot get cadet fan or limit controls from Honeywell and other parts are going obsolete.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 12:52 PM   #24
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,500
Rewards Points: 516
Default

furnace limit switch question


My first install of a progamable thermostat on my furnace turned me into a parts changer before I realized I was dealing with a 6 volt system.

Any generic parts I need have not yet become difficult to get but I think your experience is about 20 years ahead of mine.(weather wear factor).
I'm sure we will probably become one of the last bastions of old parts so let me know if you need anything next time that young parts guy gives you that blank stare..
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 01:11 PM   #25
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

furnace limit switch question


I am going to leave them to their own devices. Freedom 55 or 52 or somewhere in between.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (02-18-2012)
Old 02-18-2012, 04:17 PM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

furnace limit switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by how View Post
Beenthere..

Partypooper

Not confusing anything. AFUE never graced my post. Just responding to the previous post about another oldie but was pointing out that mine burns amazingly clean, has a second heat exchanger and is even older.
Our industry stands on the dogma that new is better, which coincidently is the veiwpoint that pays most of our morgages. From my perch, things are not so black & white and I try to remember that most dogma is a poor substitute for the not so common, common sense.
LOL... Bet you can't guess how old my furnace is.

Clue. It was made before modern retention head burners came out.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 04:47 PM   #27
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnace limit switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
LOL... Bet you can't guess how old my furnace is.

Clue. It was made before modern retention head burners came out.
You heat your home with a campfire?
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac5646 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (02-18-2012)
Old 02-18-2012, 06:28 PM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

furnace limit switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
You heat your home with a campfire?
LOL... Not quiet. Its an old old American Standard oil furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 07:14 PM   #29
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

furnace limit switch question


Older than this guy? LOL. Actually that is the latest "hot" new furnace in Vancouver. I worked on a bunch of those burning oil (Iron Fireman made oil burners too) as well as stokers I guess and they were AWFUL.
Attached Images
    
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 02-18-2012 at 07:20 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 07:18 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,580
Rewards Points: 2,840
Default

furnace limit switch question


LOL... Not quite.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
High Limit Switch Question pgh HVAC 22 12-12-2010 07:18 AM
reset limit switch on a heil quiet comfort gas furnace hogrider HVAC 1 09-16-2010 06:49 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.