Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2010, 02:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Share |
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


I have a Lennox Elite Series gas furnace with a Honeywell electronic air cleaner attached. The furnace is probably around 15 years old. I have a Honeywell Cromotherm III thermostat. Before Christmas, we had an issue with the furnace where the furnace would stop heating at 63 degrees, even though it was set at 68 degrees. It would just turn off. After adjusting the set temperature, it would come back on after a while. But then another time it didn't. So I called a heating and air guy who came out who saw nothing wrong with it, and it started up for him. Worked fine until today. It was 57 degrees when I came home from work this afternoon, so I set it for 68 degrees. It heated up the house to 63 degrees and then stopped. Any idea why it wants to stop at 63 degrees?

proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 04:26 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,409
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


Post the model and serial # of the furnace.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


Model Lennox Elite Series; Serial no. 5805E50484
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


Need a model number which will be on a label inside the furnace. Elite is saying you have a red ford. The serial number you posted is for a 4 and a half year old piece of equiptment.

Last edited by Marty S.; 01-12-2010 at 05:16 PM.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


My bad. I just received clarification from my husband that yes, it is 4 1/2 years old. (Hmmm...something else around here must be 15 years old).

Here's the model number: HS29-036-5P
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:21 PM   #6
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


I know t-stats usually are not the problem but in this case I would start by changing out that honeywell cromotherm stat.

Last edited by HvacWiz; 01-12-2010 at 05:23 PM.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


That number is for a 3 ton 12 SEER air conditioner. Need to take the door off of the furnace and look in there.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


OK. Took the door off. How about this:

M/N G32Q3-75-5

Serial no. 5802K-49073
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:37 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,409
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


If it is a programmable tstat check the programming. May need a new tstat also. That unit may have a viewing window on the lower door. Look inside when it is malfunctioning and BEFORE resetting the tstat or power. May have a series of 2 flashing LEDS which can give you an error code. There should be a label there with the codes. That furnace needs servicing once a year. Flame senser needs cleaning and the burner it sits in front of AND there is a drain hose to the trap which needs proper cleaning by an EXPERIENCED Lennox tech. These may be part of your problems. I work on LOTS of Lennox. Not DIY projects, need a skilled and experienced tech for that furnace.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 05:42 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 321
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


Thanks for your help. I'll check the thermostat.
proofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 09:44 PM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Default

Furnace kicks off at 63 degrees


twist red and white thermostat wires together i bet it will run! change yourthermostat

plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
exhaust smell when the furnace kicks on puchead77 HVAC 5 01-19-2009 01:11 PM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 07:06 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.