Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-17-2011, 04:41 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Furnace keeps shutting off

We recently replaced the furnace in my house last November with a Rheem 92 effienct and it was shutting off every 10min it seemed like. The people installed it put a 2nd vent into the basement to try and help the airflow cause they said it was getting to hot and shutting itself off. I'm relatively new to the scene but is there anything I can do to help the situation so that next winter my house wont be as cold even with the furnce running (or rather shutting off every 10min) non-stop. Bigger vent piping, vent boots? Thanks.

enemydream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 05:38 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen

Rewards Points: 3,632

Post full model number of the furnace. Along with the sizes of your supply and return trunk lines, and branch supply lines. From there, we may be able to give you some ideas of what you need to do.

Sounds like they took out an X input size old 80% furnace, and put in the same input size 92% furnace. Without giving consideration that the new furnace needs to move alot more air then the old one did.

EG: An old 100,000 BTU input 80% furnace may have only needed 820 CFM of air flow. A new 100,000 BTU input 92% will need around 1220 CFM.

The old heat exchangers were made of heavier metal, and could take higher temps, then the new thinner heat exchangers can.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 06:05 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 1,000