Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2009, 02:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace keeps igniting forever !!


Hi all,
My house is single dwelling , 2 stories. The upstair gas furnace is Bryant-day-and-night , model 394J . Some weeks ago , I noticed the clicking sound kept coming out from the furnace. Looking into the burner , I saw the pilot was on , but the ignitor kept arcing over and over. I reset the Tsat , then set the thermostat to overdrive mode , it appeared the furnace worked normally : ignitor on , next the pilot , then the burner flame up , and then blower on , but after about 30 seconds , the burner turned off , the blower stopped after that about 10 seconds , only pilot and ignitor stayed on forever. It also worked that way in other mode: hold , program...I already tried with new control board , new Tsat , to no hope. I turned off downstair furnace , guessing maybe not enough gas pressure for the upstair to run , but same thing happened. Please help . I include the furnace picture , if any more needed , please advise. Thanks for your time.
Attached Thumbnails
furnace keeps igniting forever !!-furnace.jpg  

tommyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 02:58 PM   #2
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

furnace keeps igniting forever !!


I would guess a dirty pilot assembly. The pilot needs to prove itself on before main burners can come on.

hvac122 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 03:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace keeps igniting forever !!


Thanks. What i see is pilot is on after ignited , but main burner isn't on following , and why ignitor still working endlessly after pilot already on .Is that pilot already proved itself ?
tommyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 04:09 PM   #4
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

furnace keeps igniting forever !!


I would doubt it has proved itself. Just because its lit dosn't mean its proved. Try cleaning the pilot and orifice. Make sure there is a good strong pilot flame and that it is hitting the sensors. Also clean sensors with scotchguard.
hvac122 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 09:20 PM   #5
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Rewards Points: 250
Default

furnace keeps igniting forever !!


You will need to replace the 3 wire pilot assembly.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 01:31 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace keeps igniting forever !!


I'll try the cleaning first before replacing the assembly. Hope the problem will be solved. Thanks
tommyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 06:01 AM   #7
G71
Pro
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Rewards Points: 25
Default

furnace keeps igniting forever !!


Quote:
Originally Posted by HvacWiz View Post
You will need to replace the 3 wire pilot assembly.
I agree, just change it, you're prolonging the inevitable.
G71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2009, 10:38 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace keeps igniting forever !!


This sounds very similar to a problem that I'm having with my 394G Bryant (Carrier) furnace.

Hoping that someone out there will be able to help me.

About eight months ago the igniter would spark continuously but would not light pilot and main furnace would not come on.

I had the pilot assembly LH680005 replace and it started working fine. Technition did note that after replacement, it took longer than it should for the pilot to to lite and main gas value to open thus starting the furnance.

I read some other threads that said it could be a control board or main value.

As this point, I'm going to replace the pilot assembly again and go from there.

Anyone have any additional suggestions?

Much appreciated !!

ajsellin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 02:24 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
furnace not igniting jjoossee25 HVAC 3 12-04-2006 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.