DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Furnace install in attic - Duct configuration

17K views 6 replies 2 participants last post by  beenthere 
#1 ·
Hello all, I am installing a furnace in the attic. I have all the gas line and electrical done. I have a lot of experience with gas line and electrical but little with sizing duct system. I have a 1200 sq ft house with a open floor plan. Only 3 doors on the floor to the bedrooms that would keep airflow from getting around. I know there is a ton of calculation into duct systems. I was planning to oversize the duct system to ensure a low velocity and low noise air flow. My furnace is somewhat oversize for my application but it is a new trane that I got a very good price on. Anyway I am in Southern California so I really won't be running much other than to run the cold out in the morning. I had the heat on less than 10 days last year so everything doesn't have to be perfect. I attached a very simple drawing of a duct system. I plan on having one duct per bed room (3) Two ducts in the main room which is 1/3 of the total square footage, 1 duct in the kitchen and 1 smaller in the bathroom. The kitchen and main room is all wide open and could almost be considered the same room. I had to compress the image before it would let me upload. You might not be able to read the text. The trunkline is the same size as the furnace outlet. There is also one smaller line off the trunk which would be six inch flex for the bathroom. let me know what all my problems would be for such a simple design and how I could improve. I plan on making the main trunk line metal.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
How long is the trunk line.
If its too long, without a reduction in size, you have no velocity regain, and won't get good air flow to all the supplies.

What is your definition of low velocity?

How much insulation will the trunk line have.

What is teh furnace opening size?

#3 ·