Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2009, 12:27 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

furnace ignition troubleshooting


My multimeter is not heavy duty and goes only up to 0.25A..

buju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 02:30 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 29
Default

furnace ignition troubleshooting


It's too late to repeat, so I hope it's ok to paste a link to my last posting in another bb: http://forum.doityourself.com/gas-oi...con-the90.html

I will update tomorrow. I mean today... it's 3:30 AM EST.
Darn it..

Good night and thanks.
buju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 06:03 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

furnace ignition troubleshooting


With ohms that high I would recommend a new ignitor.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 12:12 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 29
Default

furnace ignition troubleshooting


They seem to be both flaky - high resistance on the HSi side, an obvious relay flakiness on the controller side. They actually may even be related..

My main issue with changing the HSI/ flame sensor is that it is buried deep into the guts of the furnace and I'd have to take out the GV assembly - not something that I'd want to do. What a stupid design. I can'even clean the darn thing.
buju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 04:13 PM   #20
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

furnace ignition troubleshooting


You got a single burner set up with a deep green body? That's older than ten years man.

You need an up date kit for which you are ten years over due!
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 08:54 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 29
Default

furnace ignition troubleshooting


Can't see the burner, but I think that it is indeed a single burner design.
For now I will leave alone the "can opener", not cut any additional opening, and try to find a way to reach the HSI.

If I can't find a way I will try to take a picture and upload it somewhere.
I'll be back. Thanks.
buju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:33 PM   #22
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

furnace ignition troubleshooting


Dude it comes apart in five minutes
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:41 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 29
Default

furnace ignition troubleshooting


*EDIT* Can't seem to be able to edit the title.... I meant to write "inside the BURNER assembly", of course..
The burner is a single model, ending with a round plate.

Gees, that's one assembly and there's no way to take it out without taking out the gas line...

3 questions:

1) I will likely order the controller now... If that does not work I will do the HSI thing. I would like to stay away from dismantling gas piping.

Question, what do you think about this replacement controller: 50E47-843 White Rodgers UNIVERSAL IGNITION MODULE **Replaces many others... see replacement cross-reference here** - HVAC Products Any experience with it? Would it work ok, as they say that it is?

Is it pin-to-pin compatible with the Robert Shaw I am replacing: HS780-34NL-306A?

Just in case that you know.

2) If/ when I want to reach the HSI to replace or whatever - can you tell me how the piping is normally screwed?
I have the pipe connected like this: elbow-pipe-connector-pipe-GV (that surely cannot turn)

How would I disconnect? My quess is that one of the pipe screws or the connector screw in in the opposite direction.
Sorry I am a total rookie at screw-in piping...
I want to make sure that I am turning the right piece and not crack/ force anything.

3) I know how to check for gas leaks. What do you recommend to use for connection sealing? I suppose that the tape used for water pipes is not the best for this purpose.

Thanks a lot.


Last edited by buju; 01-15-2009 at 12:00 AM.
buju is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
help on a gas furnace ignition problem zorroo HVAC 14 11-21-2008 03:20 PM
intermittent ignition problem with American Std 90 propane furnace jabass HVAC 5 11-21-2008 06:16 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.