Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-11-2010, 05:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Help. Brrrr


Hello everyone. I'm having furnace troubles. It is a Payne 398aaz036080aaka gas furnace. We turned it on because it is now cold and this is what it does.
As soon as we turn on the thermostat, a fan/blower starts up (not the main one). Then i can see the pilot flame going. The little flame stays on for ~30 seconds, and then goes off again, and the little blower shuts off ~15-30 seconds later. After about 2 minutes, the same thing happens again. The main burner never comes on. What can i check or what can i do? Thanks in advance.
Last season, it worked, although it would cycle non stop. As in the heat would come on, for about a minute, then stop. Then come back on after a few minutes, then off again. It kept doing that.
I'd like to know what the issue can be, and if there's a cheap fix. I don't want to buy a new furnace, because we cannot afford one unless we put it on credit card, which i DO NOT want to happen.

florin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 08:55 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace Help. Brrrr


Sounds like it's not proving pilot flame. If pilot has a sensor try to clean it.. It you have a circuit board . look for blinking light. Probably will be located in the blower compartment

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 09:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Help. Brrrr


I can see the little pilot flame trough the window. Its working.
florin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 04:30 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,497
Rewards Points: 2,678
Default

Furnace Help. Brrrr


You may see it. But that doesn't mean the control knows it burning.

The control board should have a light that flashes an error code. look to see what code its flashing.

Could be a dirty flame sensor. Or something else. So look for the error code.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
BRRRR! NO HEAT! PLEASE HELP! Old Carrier Furnace! joeraccio HVAC 6 10-11-2010 09:07 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.