Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2010, 12:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

furnace gas supply shuts off quickly


Last week I had a 14 year old Trane furnace cleaned and checked out. First use since was this morning and it turns out that the gas shuts off a few seconds after ignition. I bypassed the thermal limit switch and get the same results.. The diagnostic light is a constatn flash. Any suggetions?

amyjamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 01:10 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

furnace gas supply shuts off quickly


Use some steel wool & clean flame sensor

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 04:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default

furnace gas supply shuts off quickly


Thanks for quick response. Removed and cleaned, but still the same result. Is it possible that sensor bad? Have continuity from sensor to control
amyjamie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 06:59 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

furnace gas supply shuts off quickly


never. ever. jump. out. a. safety. limit.-
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 09:37 PM   #5
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 245
Default

furnace gas supply shuts off quickly


Have the company come back and re-check it... It's only been a week since they were there...
newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 10:11 PM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

furnace gas supply shuts off quickly


Quote:
Originally Posted by amyjamie View Post
Thanks for quick response. Removed and cleaned, but still the same result. Is it possible that sensor bad? Have continuity from sensor to control

Could be bad sensor, bad connection at board, bad connection at sensor,bad ground, bad board

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Natural gas forced furnace - Burner shuts off prematurely scooter100 HVAC 9 01-25-2009 10:46 AM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 07:06 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.