Furnace Filters - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2006, 09:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace filters


my question is this..

would it hurt anything..ie..reduced airflow...if I were to lay filters over my cold air intake(s)..

Advertisement

eager2lern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 09:48 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

furnace filters


Probably not, as long as they weren't permitted to plug up. In some systems, that's where the filter is installed. If you're doing demolition or construction work in the house, it might even be advisable to do as you propose.

Advertisement

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 09:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace filters


thank you for the quick reply..
just replaced the furnace filter ..leading from furnace to ducting..at the furnace...
and walking out this morning..wondered if it might help keep dust and cat hair out of the furnace to lay filters over the air intakes..

Thank you again
eager2lern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Furnace not firing jax HVAC 5 02-22-2009 01:41 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 06:00 PM
Could installing a furnace to the floor joists cause the floor to slope? JKL HVAC 5 01-03-2007 10:23 PM
Furnace does't start when Fan is 'auto' stepicz HVAC 2 10-18-2005 07:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts