Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2009, 09:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

furnace filter


Hello,

I just moved into a rental that has a Snyder General natural gas furnace as its heating source. The year of manufacter printed on the the data label is 1985 and I believe the company is no longer in business, or was bought out by Arco furnaces.

Problem is that there is a replaceable cartridge type fiberglass filter in there now & is not the correct one, and is the wrong size to boot. Also, this unit is so old, I don't think it takes a cartridge filter.

If anyone has any information as to which type of filter this unit takes I would greatly appreciate it.

Here are the specs on the furnace:

Manufacturer: Comfortmaker by Snyder General
Model: G-U 400050-08M
Date of Manufacture: 10-85

Thanks for the help.
coldintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 09:51 PM   #2
zep
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 23
Default

furnace filter


You could always try the NaturalAire cut-to-fit air filter sold at Walmart.
zep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:38 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default

furnace filter


That's what I plan on doing if I can't find the correct filter type that's supposed to go with this unit....if it's even made anymore. I was hoping that I could use the throw-away type instead of the cut ones, like you mentioned. Thanks for the suggestion.
coldintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:54 AM   #4
zep
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 23
Default

furnace filter


If you do go the cut-to-fit route, I suggest cutting a metal coat hanger to the width of the determined filter size and weaving it into the filter material. This helps support and prevent the filter from being sucked up into the system. I use this filter and have three evenly spread out metal rods weaved into the filter for support.
zep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 10:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default

furnace filter


Good idea. That's one of my concerns without there being a filter track to secure the filter....that the in-flow of air will lift up and go around the filter rendering it ineffective.

Thanks again for the help.
coldintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 12:13 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default

furnace filter


I have the same furnace and can't find where to get at the filter. Any suggestions?
ohiowonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 11:53 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Default

furnace filter


Yea, the only thing I could tell you is that the filter is behind the bottom front panel. Just remove it and there is supposed to be a filter there. If there isn't, then you should install one.
coldintx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 02:24 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Furnace minus filter dsal HVAC 16 02-24-2008 12:26 PM
Milwaukee Thermoflo Furnace Filter? HELP! ur1ofus HVAC 1 12-02-2007 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.