Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2010, 03:26 AM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Share |
Default

Furnace Fan


If its battery operated. You only need to connect one more wire to it. To run the fan.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 09:29 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 13
Default

Furnace Fan


Beenthere - the thermostat I was planning on ordering is a Honeywell (no battery). It can be view at: http://www.honeywell-thermostat.com/...l/T87N1000.htm
Your thoughts/comments please.
elayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:17 PM   #18
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Furnace Fan


it's just your basic t.stat. It will work for what you want
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 12:38 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 13
Default

Furnace Fan


I appreciate your input! I apologize for being so ignorant of this subject. - elayr
elayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 03:59 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Default

Furnace Fan


Stay clear of that thermostat.

You need to add a resistor to the wiring at the furnace for it to work right. Its a power stealing thermostat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 06:00 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 13
Default

Furnace Fan


Beenthere - what thermostat would you recommend I buy. I don't need anything fancy! v/r elayr
elayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 07:32 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Default

Furnace Fan


A simple battery operated Honeywell thermostat.

Similar to the TH4000
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 11:00 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 13
Default

Furnace Fan


Beenthere - yet another dumb question. I was looking at a Honeywell Pro 5000 thermostast. In reading the specifications for this unit it stated: Battery Operated or Hardwired. What does this mean? rsvp elayr
(Are you tired of me yet?)
elayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 04:15 AM   #24
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Default

Furnace Fan


The 5000 is a nice thermostat. And will work for what you want it to do.

What the description means. Is that it can be ran by using 24 volt power from the furnace/air handler by wiring up the equipments common to its common. Or, it can be ran by batteries on equipment such as yours.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:50 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 13
Default

Furnace Fan


Beenthere - I'll order one, install it and see what happens. I'll get back to you in a week or so. Many thanks - v/r elayr
elayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 11:21 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Furnace Fan


Buy our AirCycler FRV and mount it by the furnace where you can pick up R, C & G.

R is 24VAC, C is the common and G is the fan control wire.

Your 2 wire thermostat is just R and W. The furnace turns the fan on by itself from a timer. You would need to run more wires to use a thermostat that energizes G.

The AirCycler FRV will control the fan and you can keep your existing 2 wire thermostat.



Jason

Last edited by beenthere; 10-29-2010 at 02:36 PM. Reason: removed link
JasonW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 02:37 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,778
Default

Furnace Fan


Seems your posting more to advertise. then to offer real help. thats not allowed.

You can how ever, buy advertising. Us the contact us tab at the top of the page.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 12:36 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA state
Posts: 13
Default

Furnace Fan


Beenthere and Kenmac - I want to thank-you for your guidance and patience. I got a battery operated thermostat and wired it according to instructions. Fan On!! Wife thinks we should get a heat pump and new variable speed air handler/controller. Oh well- again many thanks v/r -elayr

elayr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 02:24 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.