Furnace Electricity - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2010, 09:50 AM   #1
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace electricity


My landlord had a mid effiency furnace installed before Christmas to replace a real noisy clunker. Both are gas. I just received the hydro bill (every two months) and am shocked to see that it went from $324 to $585!

Water is also included but still...

Sometimes I run a small heater for a couple of hours to heat one room but was doing that before.

The furnace seems to turn on much more frequently than the old one (something like every 15 minutes or so) and I am wondering...
Can a furnace fan draw that much energy? Was I was better off with the old clunker? The new one is a "KeepRite" if that makes any difference.

Advertisement

canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 10:07 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace electricity


Might there have been a meter mis-read? Compare your bill to the current meter reading.

We recently had a 95% furnace installed just as this cold winter started. We were pleasently suprized to be getting $200 when previous winters with the older system was usually about $250. Then, last month we go a $400+ bill. I checked the meter's current reading and found the reading listed on the bill was beyond the current reading.

Advertisement

HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 11:01 AM   #3
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace electricity


That was my first (hopeful) guess. They are coming today to do another reading. Fingers crossed! lol
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 11:18 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 600
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Furnace electricity


I wonder if the new one is oversized, because you say it cycles often.
operagost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 11:30 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace electricity


Quote:
Originally Posted by operagost View Post
I wonder if the new one is oversized, because you say it cycles often.
Even if it is oversized, I wouldn't think that could account for an 80% increase in gas use... especially (if like where I'm located) the weather for the last month was a little milder than the two previous months.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 11:41 AM   #6
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace electricity


I would have thought that oversized would cycle less??
canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 12:51 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Furnace electricity


Oversized cycles more.

Oversized is on for a short period of time, and then generally comes on quicker then a proper sized one.

Post full model number of new furnace(won't know if its bigger then the old, but the number helps to know what size furnace we're talking about).

What size is your house?

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 03:24 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts