Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2006, 11:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Question

Furnace Electrical Supply....


A few of us were discussing the proper use of generators over in Electrical and a question came up that you all in HVAC might be able to answer.

Is there a NEC code that addresses if a gas furnace electrical supply consist of a properly size cord plugged into a dedicated outlet?

Currently my own furnace is hard wired into a receptical that has a hot outlet as well as a switch to cut the power to the furnace while being serviced.

The reason for asking is when using a generator supplying power to different appliances by extension cord ... the furnace can then be unplugged and plugged into the extension cord with power from the generator.

Thus the question regarding the NEC code (where a copy is hard to come by for the average homeowner).

We all would welcome your thoughtful suggestions and advise...

caseywa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 07:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace Electrical Supply....


hard wired.

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 10:37 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace Electrical Supply....


Thanks redline. I have a copy of the NEC 2005 code book but it really does not say for sure one way or the other...it leaves it up in the air. I will leave it hardwire and research more into properly using a transfer switch at a subpanel.
caseywa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM
Could installing a furnace to the floor joists cause the floor to slope? JKL HVAC 5 01-03-2007 09:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.