Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2013, 05:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


Hi folks. I searched all I could for an answer before posting this but couldn't find one.
Here is my issue:
The tstat calls for heat and the induction fans starts running, the burner fires and then the blower fan starts, all as per normal.
About 1 or 2 minutes in, the burner goes out and blower fan stops, the induction fan keeps going since the tstat is still calling for heat.
30 seconds or so later the burner fires again and the blower starts again after a short delay. It will do this 2 or 3 times and then run normally after that.
Any ideas? Furnace is a Ruud, I think, have to check for sure.
Tstat is a White Rogers. Filters are new and clean.

Thanks in advance.

chongololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 05:54 PM   #2
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


sounds like something in the flue pipe possibly. with the given info ,will need to use a meter and see what is opening causing it to recycle. Depending on the year there may be a indicator light you can view there the bottom door that will flash a code

qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 06:06 PM   #3
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,498
Rewards Points: 512
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


A dirty flame sensor in need of cleaning is often the most common cause of this type of momentary flame shut down.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 06:47 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


Thanks guys, I'll take a look.
chongololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 08:31 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,247
Rewards Points: 508
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


Would the blower speed being set too low cause the unit to shut down on overtemp?
danpik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 08:49 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,612
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


It can BUT the fan would keep running after the limit opened, his does not.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 09:14 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,247
Rewards Points: 508
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


Yep, missed that part.
danpik is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 06:55 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


So I checked the flame sensor and it looked good, I cleaned it anyway.
The LED flashes the code 'pressure switch open'. I took the little air hose off the switch and blew into it and sucked on it and the switch moves just fine.

I let the furnace run and heard some clacking type sounds from these little things in the picture below.



There are two of them wired together about 8 inches apart just above the burners. One wire goes to the board, the other goes to the top part of the combustion chamber perhaps. Are they combustion air sensors?

The hvac guy I called thinks it could be the board though.
Any ideas? Thanks
chongololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 08:20 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


That is a flame roll out switch. it shouldn't be able to clack.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 08:40 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


ok. What does it do and how does it work? Could that be the culprit?
chongololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2013, 08:47 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


If there is a problem with the heat exchanger or flue and the flame comes back out toward the manifold, or the shield gets too hot. they open up and cause teh gas valve to close. they are safeties.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 07:10 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


Just a quick update for those interested. I took the vacuum and cleaned out the whole burner area. Those flame roll out switches were sitting on a piece of sheet metal that was sagging a little, leaving them too close to the flame.
I bent the sheet metal up a bit.
The hvac guy came to take a look and thought that the gas pressure was a bit too high and that was also contributing to the over heat cut outs. He turned it down a little.
I put it all back together and so far so good.
Seems to run through a complete cycle just fine.
Thanks to all here for their comments.
chongololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 04:28 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


Quote:
Originally Posted by chongololo View Post
Just a quick update for those interested. I took the vacuum and cleaned out the whole burner area. Those flame roll out switches were sitting on a piece of sheet metal that was sagging a little, leaving them too close to the flame.
I bent the sheet metal up a bit.
The hvac guy came to take a look and thought that the gas pressure was a bit too high and that was also contributing to the over heat cut outs. He turned it down a little.
I put it all back together and so far so good.
Seems to run through a complete cycle just fine.
Thanks to all here for their comments.

Did he adjust the gas pressure by at least using a manometer to see what pressure it was running at before and after the adjustment. or just by eye. If just by eye, he may have covered up the real problem, and it will come back and bite you in the butt some night.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 03:26 PM   #14
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,498
Rewards Points: 512
Default

furnace cuts out after a few mins


Something isn't right here.

Those roll out switches have to be manually re set to allow the gas valve to fire up after they've tripped. If they did cause the gas valve to shut down, one of them is faulty but
your board should also have given you a different fault code.
As Beenthere has indicated, I think you might have just put a band-aide on a real potential bleeder.


Last edited by how; 12-20-2013 at 03:29 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nordyne furnace, error code: Pressure switch stuck closed. javagrendel HVAC 21 03-25-2013 01:14 PM
Furnace and Water Heater Venting SallySensation HVAC 5 03-05-2013 05:53 PM
Moving furnace & redoing ducting cbrc5eric HVAC 0 02-09-2012 08:13 AM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 10:42 PM
Furnace question cuts off until I hit the reset switch bmvrdv HVAC 7 12-09-2008 09:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.