Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-21-2011, 05:00 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Share |
Default

Furnace continues to run after system shuts down


Here is a picture of the top of one of the relays where i numbered the connections:





So I tested all of them and got a 1 on my meter for all. But, when testing 3 and 4 together on each of the relays, as soon as I touched them the number jumped up to like 1.50 and then back down to 1.

Again, all 3 had the same results, and it's probably unlikely that all 3 relays are bad.

I'm not sure where to go from here....


Last edited by spikesnet; 10-21-2011 at 05:45 PM.
spikesnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 05:50 PM   #32
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,382
Default

Furnace continues to run after system shuts down


Should have a marking/diagram of which terminal are the coils, and which are the contacts. Look or it, and ohm out the contacts. Set your ohm meter to 200 or lower if it has a lower setting.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 06:08 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default

Furnace continues to run after system shuts down


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Should have a marking/diagram of which terminal are the coils, and which are the contacts. Look or it, and ohm out the contacts. Set your ohm meter to 200 or lower if it has a lower setting.
Ok, I think we got something this time. Looking at the relay I numbered, #1 and #2 on all 3 relays is the contacts (blue and black wires).

Relay #3 go negative then positive then settles down around 00.3. The other two relays give a solid "1" on those terminals.

I think I need a relay?
spikesnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 06:12 PM   #34
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,382
Default

Furnace continues to run after system shuts down


They should be open until they receive 24 volts. The numbers your posting would indicate that they are both closed.

To test your meter. Ohm out the strip heater. should gt 10 to 12 ohms.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 06:21 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default

Furnace continues to run after system shuts down


Could you please clarify something for me just so I'm not saying the wrong thing....

If I touch my meters two probes together and it displays a "00.2", is that considered open or closed?

Last edited by spikesnet; 10-21-2011 at 06:24 PM.
spikesnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 06:29 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default

Furnace continues to run after system shuts down


Quote:
Originally Posted by spikesnet View Post
Could you please clarify something for me just so I'm not saying the wrong thing....

If I touch my meters two probes together and it displays a "00.2", is that considered open or closed?
ok, I think I figured it out with google, when i touch the probes together I have a closed circuit.

Going to retest.
spikesnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 06:35 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default

Furnace continues to run after system shuts down


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
They should be open until they receive 24 volts. The numbers your posting would indicate that they are both closed.

To test your meter. Ohm out the strip heater. should gt 10 to 12 ohms.

The strip heater gave me 11.5 - 11.8 on all 3 springs.

relay 1 = open
relay 2 = open
relay 3 = closed
spikesnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 07:58 PM   #38
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,382
Default

Furnace continues to run after system shuts down


3 is probably the one causing your fan to run.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 08:23 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default

Furnace continues to run after system shuts down


I'm excited! I think this is it. I just ordered a new relay online, well 5 new relays because that was the cheapest option. I'll update after it comes in and everything is back together.

Thanks for all your help!

spikesnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
My G26 Lennox furnace tries to start for about 5 seconds then shuts down hawkeye2011 HVAC 9 03-26-2011 01:29 AM
Rheem 80% Furnace Short Cycling rlukas79 HVAC 0 12-19-2010 03:27 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Replace furnace, coil and duct system sps123 HVAC 2 01-07-2006 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.