Furnace Is Condensating? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 07:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is condensating?


During the night, my furnance shuts off (the piolot has a hard time lighting again and the house gets cold. I also notice there's water that is in a tube connecting the fan and the (thromoeter) Why is there water backing up in my furnance?

Advertisement

Andrew W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 07:47 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,661
Rewards Points: 2,636
Default

Furnace is condensating?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew W View Post
During the night, my furnance shuts off (the piolot has a hard time lighting again and the house gets cold. I also notice there's water that is in a tube connecting the fan and the (thromoeter) Why is there water backing up in my furnance?
get us a picture of furnace with door off so we can see what your talking about???

Advertisement

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is condensating?


going to send a pic now
Andrew W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is condensating?


I think I sent this picture right... water is in the red tube
Attached Thumbnails
Furnace is condensating?-000_0059-1-.jpg  
Andrew W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,661
Rewards Points: 2,636
Default

Furnace is condensating?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew W View Post
I think I sent this picture right... water is in the red tube
good picture andy... you say you have water in orange tube...pull tube off inducer and clean out the little port....also go to other end of tube at pressure switch make sure tube is not cloged.. thats a inner city product...tempstar,heil.. right
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:24 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Furnace is condensating?


It's an older ICP product.

Haven't seen a collector box for sometime now. If you are getting water in the orange tube and you shouldn't because this is an 80% furnace. I would check the flue for a restriction.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:24 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is condensating?


port is connected to the fan, right.. how do i clean this?
Andrew W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:27 PM   #8
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Furnace is condensating?


Just remove the orange hose and blow through the hose. Look at the ports where the hose connected and look for a blockage.

The bigger picture is that you said there is water in the hose and this is NOT a condensating furnace.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,661
Rewards Points: 2,636
Default

Furnace is condensating?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
Just remove the orange hose and blow through the hose. Look at the ports where the hose connected and look for a blockage.

The bigger picture is that you said there is water in the hose and this is NOT a condensating furnace.
I remember these units I also remember there was alittle water in tube but not enough to interfere with operation ....i
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
Plumber101 (03-05-2012)
Old 03-05-2012, 08:32 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,661
Rewards Points: 2,636
Default

Furnace is condensating?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew W View Post
port is connected to the fan, right.. how do i clean this?
yes connected to fan pull off get small peice of wire or something push into port back and forth
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:33 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,661
Rewards Points: 2,636
Default

Furnace is condensating?


that is the original inducer fan in furnace,...is it making any noise...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:36 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is condensating?


I believe its starting to make noises that I'm not used to...
Andrew W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:38 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,661
Rewards Points: 2,636
Default

Furnace is condensating?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew W View Post
I believe its starting to make noises that I'm not used to...
that may explain the water in tube ..but sill should operate because its closing pressure switch.....how much water in tube,,,,just a few drops?
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:41 PM   #14
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Furnace is condensating?


If I had a dollar for every bird that falls to it's death down a flue pipe. I'd have about $20. Check the flue to make sure it still has it's cap in place. You may have a weak inducer motor.

The only way to know is to measure the pressure of the inducer. You will need a manometer to check the pressure. Inch of Water Column (In wc)
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 08:46 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is condensating?


Nothing last night/ 3 a.m. this morning... I dont know if you got the message about the coils underneath the furnance for the air conditioning... could the hot air mix with the (cool) coils causing condensation backing up in the furnance?
Attached Thumbnails
Furnace is condensating?-000_0062-1-.jpg  

Advertisement

Andrew W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 06:01 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 07:42 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 02:12 PM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 11:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts