Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2011, 09:51 AM   #16
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Share |
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


Sure looks like that rise in the tubing, as noted by HVAClover, could be the problem. There is not a lot of vertical difference to keep the water moving. Flatten that out and see what happens.

raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 06:15 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 2
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
Its not.....
I guess it might not be simple for everyone to pitch their furnace with shims but it was simple for me. I used a crow bar and a couple pieces of wood to slightly lift the furnace and then slipped the shims underneath. Once I did that the condensate drained out of my furnace through the trap and the furnace started heating again. I got the idea from a neighbor who has many years experience in the HVAC business.
Attached Thumbnails
Furnace condensate drain/trap issue-img-20111103-00164.jpg  
pmahar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:16 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


I wonder what the fix was... there is no ending to this story
rick31797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 08:19 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


I had the same issues as above.. Goodman furnace/ led flash code 1 blink.. everything cycled except gas valve.. One of the lower pressure tubes had small amount of condensation in it.. drained /blww out tubes.. flushed the drain trap.. everything was good to go.. unit would run for a bit cycle off. I'd empty the drain line by hand and unit would run.. Tried cleaning everything again.. same issues.. Then I shimmed the unit up and watched the drain trap start working..

That was the fix for me .. shimming the unit on one side. Thanks to the poster for the information..
piranha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:33 PM   #20
Elburn, IL
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


Do you even need the factory trap? What if I eliminate the trap,
use whatever pvc fitting(s) to make it work? my floor drain, which
is very lose to the furnace corner, has a p-trap. thanks, douglas
Douglasrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:56 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


i was under the impression the reason for the trap is too purify the condensation before it is sent out to the ground,i am thinking inside the trap is charcoal.
rick31797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 06:50 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 599
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


The trap ensures that only the condensate comes out and not the exhaust fumes from the furnace.
hvac benny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:45 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


So it very important too keep the trap in place and not just bypass it.
rick31797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 09:44 AM   #24
Elburn, IL
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


if the trap has charcoal, and it's a sealed unit, almost
impossible to clean? how could exhaust gases pass thru
to the drain system? about the trap somehow purifying
the condensate, how far do we wish to take save the planet?
My daughter's house, Carrier 58MXA, we blew thru the tubing,
got gurgiling sound, jumpered the wires off the pressure switch,
and furnace ran for 3-4hrs, repeated this that's where we're at now.
I'm thinking eliminate the trap, should cure water in the drain lines.
what you say? thanks, Douglas
Douglasrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 09:55 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


I am guessing what is inside the trap, its not just hollow, it is sealed, and i have just run water through it to flush it out.
rick31797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:00 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 599
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglasrome
if the trap has charcoal, and it's a sealed unit, almost
impossible to clean? how could exhaust gases pass thru
to the drain system? about the trap somehow purifying
the condensate, how far do we wish to take save the planet?
My daughter's house, Carrier 58MXA, we blew thru the tubing,
got gurgiling sound, jumpered the wires off the pressure switch,
and furnace ran for 3-4hrs, repeated this that's where we're at now.
I'm thinking eliminate the trap, should cure water in the drain lines.
what you say? thanks, Douglas
• there is no charcoal on the trap
• the condensate is drawn from the exhaust as it cools in the secondary heat exchanger, so the exhaust could very easily come out the drain (they're coming from the same place).
• the pressure switch is a safety and should NEVER be bypassed.
• Carrier has had issues with their secondary heat exchangers. Your daughter's could be plugged. It's also common for the primary heat exchanger to crack when the secondary gets too plugged. You should have it checked by a qualified gas fitter.
• the furnace is designed to run with that trap. It's there for a reason, do not remove it.
hvac benny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:04 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 599
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by rick31797
I am guessing what is inside the trap, its not just hollow, it is sealed, and i have just run water through it to flush it out.
Soak it in bleach and hot water to loosen up the gunk inside of it. If it gets to the point of being plugged, you really should have your secondary heat exchanger inspected. All ports on the trap should be clear (you should be able to blow through them all).
hvac benny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:21 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


Quote:
• there is no charcoal on the trap
• the condensate is drawn from the exhaust as it cools in the secondary heat exchanger, so the exhaust could very easily come out the drain (they're coming from the same place).
• the pressure switch is a safety and should NEVER be bypassed.
• Carrier has had issues with their secondary heat exchangers. Your daughter's could be plugged. It's also common for the primary heat exchanger to crack when the secondary gets too plugged. You should have it checked by a qualified gas fitter.
• the furnace is designed to run with that trap. It's there for a reason, do not remove it.

You said alot but you never said what is inside the trap.
rick31797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 10:34 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 599
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by rick31797

You said alot but you never said what is inside the trap.
Lol, a trap is full of water (or condensate in this case). If there is no water in it, then it's empty. Think of the trap under a sink- same idea.
hvac benny is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 06:19 AM   #30
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by rick31797 View Post
You said alot but you never said what is inside the trap.
I agree..the poster said IF the has charcoal in it. The trap is hollow.

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Condensate tube from furnace billthecat Plumbing 8 08-05-2009 07:38 AM
AC condensate issue cleddy HVAC 1 08-02-2009 09:26 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.