Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2012, 03:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap help needed


Greetings, I recently moved into a house with a Carrier Weathermaker 9200, and planned on installing a bypass humidifier. While preparing to run the drain line, I noticed the peculiar arrangement of the condensate drain line, & what worried me the most was the trapped drain line running from the exhaust vent, which looks to be original & done at the time of installation. Is this proper procedure? This exhaust drain & the furnace condensate drain join together & deposit into the (non trapped) AC drain line & exit in the sump pit. Other than the miniscule amount of water in the trap, I donít see what keeps exhaust from leaking into the house.

Iíd be happy to hear some advice/suggestions on this matter.

EW57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:56 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by EW57 View Post
...what worried me the most was the trapped drain line running from the exhaust vent...
I don't think it matters a whole lot...
but I'm a bit OCD and that would bug me as well.

$5 spent on some new fittings and we can both sleep better.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 04:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap help needed


If you look closely to the left side of that picture, you will see the condensate TRAP supplied by Carrier, the trap at the bottom of the flue pipe i am betting is left over by lazy installers who didn't feel like re-working a exhaust pipe. As in any trade, we too have hacks who just don't care.

Last edited by harleyrider; 01-08-2012 at 06:20 PM.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 04:16 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by harleyrider View Post
...the trap at the bottom of the flue pipe i am better is left over by lazy installers who didn't feel like re-working a exhaust pipe. As in any trade, we too have hacks who just don't care.
Thanks for the reply, is the exhaust supposed to be drained this way? It doesnt take long for the exhuast to expel the water in the trap & start pushing exhaust through. Should the trap be longer/larger?

Thanks again!
EW57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 06:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by EW57 View Post
Thanks for the reply, is the exhaust supposed to be drained this way? It doesnt take long for the exhuast to expel the water in the trap & start pushing exhaust through. Should the trap be longer/larger?

Thanks again!
At this point just leave it....but its an extra un-needed trap.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 03:21 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap help needed


Yes, the exhaust is supposed to be trapped.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 07:50 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yes, the exhaust is supposed to be trapped.
On a Carrier, the exhaust is trapped through the venting system, into a Factory supplied trap (as in the picture on the left).
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 03:44 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by harleyrider View Post
On a Carrier, the exhaust is trapped through the venting system, into a Factory supplied trap (as in the picture on the left).
On long vent runs(specially if its unconditioned), you need to have that drip tee like they have. And it needs a drain, and a trap.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 03:59 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,410
Default

Furnace condensate drain/trap help needed


there is not enough pressure to blow the water out of the trap on the drain pipe and there is lots of condensation/water in the exhaust to refill it. York and a few other models use a drip tee to get rid of condensation in the exhaust so it is just fine. 99% or more of the furnaces running are producing no CO in their exhaust or a very tiny amount. a properly burning furnace gives U water vapor/H20 and CO2 not C0. the C0 is when there is improper combustion/shortage of oxygen to the burners or other bad conditions which you should not have.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Condensate Pump confusion GlennAndrew HVAC 9 01-01-2010 05:25 PM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 07:06 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
KNOWLEDGABLE condensate advice needed Nestor_Kelebay HVAC 5 11-23-2008 07:06 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.