Furnace Closet Vent-not Sure? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2010, 12:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace closet vent-not sure?


The closet the furnace sits in has a 12x6 vent in the floor which blows cold air from crawl space below. There are big open spaces in ceiling leading to attic. They stuffed some fiberglass in gaps and called it good. You can hang meat in there in winter. I want to close up all the openings. The furnace is a Lennox model EZ-1625. The supply and exhaust pipes are PVC and I assume makes it a 90% furnace. The heated air connects from the top of unit while the return air comes through duct under furnace. There is also a floor level retun below the furnace that tee's into the return air duct. The house was built in 50's so open space to attic and crawl space...well don't know??? Is it safe to make closet air tight when dealing with gas and co??? Home owner trying to be safe. Thanks People

Advertisement

kona-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 01:31 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace closet vent-not sure?


if you have an intake (combustion air) pipe & an exhaust pipe. then you can make that area air tight. Provided you have no other gas burning appliance in that room

Advertisement

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 05:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace closet vent-not sure?


Thanks Kenmac...yes there is one supply and one exhaust 2 inch pipes that pass through attic and terminate about 2 1/2 feet above roof. The only thing in the closet is the furnace. Would it be wise to install a CO and Gas detector in the closet? Again Thanks
kona-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 12:47 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace closet vent-not sure?


Kenmac,

You say you can close up the vents in this application. In so many words, this is becasue the furnace is a direct vent unit which gets its combustion air from the sealed outside vent. Great. Now, is this true for a gas direct vent water heater? One would sure think so. If not, why not?
bob99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I vent furnace through window? praprade HVAC 27 10-04-2010 10:02 PM
Furnace and air vent problems dsd HVAC 3 06-15-2010 08:28 AM
90% Furnace Vent Lines tk707 HVAC 3 01-13-2009 09:56 PM
Is my furnace a direct vent or power vent? wease HVAC 5 02-02-2007 08:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts