Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2012, 07:47 AM   #16
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,887
Share |
Default

Furnace circuit trips -- sometimes -- when AC cycles on


Well look at the panel,then look at how many circuits its feeding!
Go kick the electrician in the ass who wired the house with that 20 space panel and have install a 30 space panel atleast to eliminate most of those damn tandem breakers!

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:27 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,215
Default

Furnace circuit trips -- sometimes -- when AC cycles on


Looking at your breakers,all the twins are wired incorrectly. You electrcian should of seen that and zoomed in on that first.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:36 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 92
Default

Furnace circuit trips -- sometimes -- when AC cycles on


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Looking at your breakers,all the twins are wired incorrectly. You electrcian should of seen that and zoomed in on that first.
Could you explain how all the tandem breakers are absolutely wired incorrectly?

What I see in the close up photo is that many adjacent tandem breakers are tied across different breaker slots. For example A,B = tandem breaker 1, and C,D = tandem breaker 2; B-C are tied. Since breaker 1 is adjacent to breaker 2, they ought to be on opposite phases. So circuit B and circuit C would be on opposite phases. ASSUMING the electrician wired circuit B and C as a multi-wire branch circuit, or as a single 240v circuit, would this not be acceptable?
sixspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 02:26 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,215
Default

Furnace circuit trips -- sometimes -- when AC cycles on


It appears to me they used a three wire circuit in most of wiring. When you use a twin on leg A, black wire and red wire share the same neutral.You see they add up curent on neutral,so if the blk wire pulls 10 amps and the red oone pulls 14, they add up and overloads the common neutral return. www.mikeholt.com can explain this with graphics.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 09:04 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

Furnace circuit trips -- sometimes -- when AC cycles on


Also, I guess it might depend on local code but shouldn't MBC breakers be tied together to both trip if one does?
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 10:10 AM   #21
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,837
Default

Furnace circuit trips -- sometimes -- when AC cycles on


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22
Also, I guess it might depend on local code but shouldn't MBC breakers be tied together to both trip if one does?
If you look at the Tandoms, those that are MWBC's have ties on them. Those that are not, don't.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 10:55 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

Furnace circuit trips -- sometimes -- when AC cycles on


Better eyes than mine!

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Dedicated circuit for furnace? DangerMouse Electrical 18 07-03-2010 04:17 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Furnace cycles to often DRAZOR HVAC 7 01-03-2008 02:14 PM
Heat Pump compressor trips circuit breaker joejean HVAC 3 08-28-2006 12:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.