Furnace Burners Won't Come On - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2013, 03:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace burners won't come on


I have a payne furnace with a metal box that contains the burners. The box has a face plate with a round sight glass. If I remove that face plate, the furnace works fine. As soon as I install the faceplate, the burners go out and the LED flashes an error code of 13. There is a sensor on the side of the box with 2 red wires, and what appears to be a reset button in the center. The button does not pop, so there is nothing to reset. If I want the burners to come on, I simply turn off the thermostat, remove the face plate, then turn on the thermostat. Any ideas what may be wrong?

Advertisement

johnmr12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 04:23 PM   #2
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,552
Rewards Points: 620
Default

furnace burners won't come on


You should have a diagnostic legend inside the furnace (check the inside of the furnace doors) that will explain what the code means.

Removing the sight glass or sight glass will change the pressure differential so the code will probably reflect a pressure issue.
A faulting pressure switch/ hose lines/ ID motor or assy / vent obstructions/ or the heat exchanger are all possibilities

Let us know what the legend says is 13.

Advertisement

how is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 04:26 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,519
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

furnace burners won't come on


Could be the combustion air intake is restriction, or the exhaust flue is restricted.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 04:52 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace burners won't come on


The code says it is either a limit or flame roll out lockout. It says if its a limit switch issue, it will reset after 3 hours, which it didn't. If it's a flame roll out issue, it says to manually reset the switch or replace the fuse link. I'm pretty sure the flame roll out switch is the sensor on the side of the box, and as I said before, it doesn't require a reset. I'm not sure where the fuse link is.
johnmr12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 05:22 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace burners won't come on


I went on the roof and there is no obvious obstruction in the exhaust flue
johnmr12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 05:26 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,519
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

furnace burners won't come on


With the burner over off. Run the furnace and see if it completes a full heating cycle.

Also post full model number.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 05:31 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace burners won't come on


With the cover off, a motor comes on as soon as I turn on the thermostat, then after about a minute, the igniter starts to glow, then the burners fire and another motor seems to come on. As long as the cover is off, the burners will continue to burn and the heat comes through the vents. The model number is PG9MAA
johnmr12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 05:49 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,519
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

furnace burners won't come on


Is this burning LP/propane?
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 05:50 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace burners won't come on


Sorry, yes it uses propane.
johnmr12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 05:53 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,519
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

furnace burners won't come on


Secondary heat exchanger may be plugging up with soot.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 05:56 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace burners won't come on


Can you tell me how to unplug it? what does it look like?
johnmr12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 07:46 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,519
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

furnace burners won't come on


The collector box for the secondary is what the inducer/combustion blower is connected to. You need to remove the inducer, and inspect the secondary heat exchanger.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 02:29 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace burners won't come on


The furnace is in my garage, and the daytime temps here have been below 10 degrees for about 3 days, which is coincidentally when the heater stopped working. I had no idea that water was a part of this unit, but there is a hose coming from the secondary heat exchanger to an external pvc pipe which appears to drain excess water. That hose is full of ice. I'm going to assume that's my problem, so does anyone know the easiest way to remove or melt the ice without having to take out the motor which sits in front of it? and how do I keep it from freezing again?
johnmr12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 02:51 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,519
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

furnace burners won't come on


Use heat gun/hair dryer. Then install a condensate pump and pump the water to a sanitary drain. Insulate the pump.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 02:55 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace burners won't come on


Thanks, I will do that. When the heater is running, is the water in the system hot? In other words, if I have the thermostat set to 70 degrees and the furnace is continually cycling on and off to keep the house at 70, would that prevent the water from freezing?

Advertisement

johnmr12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Furnace - Only First Two Burners Fire (Video Included) mark2741 HVAC 11 11-20-2012 10:51 PM
90-year-old Furnace Burners won't light asenada HVAC 15 10-24-2012 02:51 PM
Furnace Burners Flicker On and Off EDOinHB HVAC 19 02-22-2012 06:55 PM
Gibson furnace burners don't work rockyzys HVAC 4 12-21-2011 07:10 PM
Furnace burners flame out after a few seconds snurb HVAC 3 01-13-2009 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts