Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2011, 09:00 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Share |
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


i have an old bryant furnace. its real big but not a gravity furnace. the air it blows is cold, even from the vent coming out of the plenum. when you look inside the burner is burning good. it runs almost constantly and it only stays at 62 even though its set for 67. i live in cleveland, ohio. any ideas?

drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 01:59 AM   #2
HVAC Supermodel
 
unicursalhex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Wa
Posts: 167
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


Probably time for a new furnace... I bet the fan quit

unicursalhex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 04:51 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,527
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


Probably needs a clean and tune. Orifice/orifices are probably dirty, and manifold pressure may be too low.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


the fan is blowing strong. what orifices do you think i should clean? the air comes out strong in the vents upstairs, its just cold.
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 08:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


i just dont understand where all that heat could be going. there's a huge fire in there. maybe something in the plenum is clogged driving all the heat out of the flue?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 08:47 PM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


Is your duct work is in crawl space ?
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 09:09 PM   #7
HVAC Contractor
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 12
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


Do you have outside air ducted into the return? What is the gas pressure in and out of manifold (gas valve)?
1acman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,864
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


The heat exchanger could be caked with dust (where the room air passes through from the return duct to the supply duct) and/or carbon deposits (where the smoke from the fire passes through from the firebox to the chimney and also down where the flames are). The fire should be blue which gives maximum heat and minimum carbon deposits. If the fire is yellow (more carbon deposits) you need to adjust the air/gas mixture using flaps in the burner assembly.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-18-2011 at 10:11 PM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 08:20 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


the ducts are in the basement. there isnt really a return duct. it just sucks air in from the basement. what is the best way to access the heat exchanger to clean it? and where is the spot where the smoke from the fire passes the fire box to the chimney? should i just brush and vacuum the area down by the burner?
drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 08:22 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 233
Default

furnace blows cold air but burner is workin


it just seems like if its still burning fine i dont need to buy a new furnace. maybe the mechanism that causes the fan to turn off is broke. so in between when the burner is on, its blowing cold air up.

drewhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Pilot burner replacement - Carrier 58GS150-CB furnace danielr HVAC 11 02-08-2013 12:19 PM
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 01:24 AM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 02:24 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.