Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2011, 08:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Furnace blowing COLD air


I am helping a friend diagnose a problem with her gas furnace. I don't have the model number of her furnace yet, but here is the general problem:

The furnace starts up normally and blows hot air for about 6 minutes, then near the end of this cycle the furnace blows ice cold air for about 3 minute and stops.

Is this normal?

Could this be a sign that the fan relay is malfunctioning? If this is the likely culprit, does anyone have a link to picture of how this relay might look like?

Please help me as soon as you can. Thanks.

Janine1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 10:50 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Central Ontario. Canada
Posts: 8
Default

Furnace blowing COLD air


no, this is not normal. Is the tstat satified at the point when the furnace cuts off, or is it a degree or so still below the setting? Normally a cycle would begin when the tstat setting starts up the burner, The burner will run for approx 3 minutes or so then the fan will come on. The burner should run for another 3-4 minutes {approx 7 minutes total in all )then shut off and the fan should run another 2 minutes or so and then shut down. If the fans " cut-off' setting is set too high then the fan will continue to run a bit longer and only deliver cool air Since I do not the model,etc of the furnace I cannot tell you how to adjust the "fan off" setting{if it even has one}. You may have to buy an new fan control.

Hube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 04:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Furnace blowing COLD air


Have her check if the AC is running outside. Even if the furnace fan sticks on the air coming out of the registers should be room temp not "ice cold". If the furnace is in the attic also have her look for leaks in the return air duct which could be bringing in cold attic air.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC not blowing cold air - was told have leak in coil- Cost? H.O.P. HVAC 3 05-17-2011 07:47 PM
cold air intake from outside to furnace... sspeed HVAC 8 03-19-2011 07:26 PM
Cold air in duct in furnace room? DIYguy2000 HVAC 6 12-23-2009 10:42 AM
Goodman furnace blowing lukewarm air mangust13 HVAC 12 02-19-2009 07:38 PM
Furnace blowing cold air. rileyc HVAC 4 02-19-2009 02:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.