Furnace Blower Wiring... - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2009, 05:12 PM   #1
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Furnace blower wiring...

This question is marginally about furnaces/HVAC, but I really don't know where else to turn to.

I got an old GE 115V 60Hz 1/2 hp motor, model number 5kh42er681S. It has a centrifugal clutch and belt drive pulley on its shaft. It's also thermally protected.

Unfortunately, there isn't any labeling on the wires or any documentation when I google that model number.

It has a 5-pin connector on it. It's arranged in a 2x3 6-pin connector with one pin empty.

colors are:

blue or green
white or yellow


This is when you look at the pins end-on on the connector. The colors are also faded, so I'm not sure which they are for some (thus the "or"s)

I am trying to use this for either a go kart or a lathe... in either case, it's not a furnace. So, I needed to know what the pinout is supposed to be. Visually, it looks similar to this model from grainger:

Further info on the stamped plate:
Code: NKDR5Z
PC: 817G

Also, I don't see any other wires, like for a capacitor or anything, or it's just a single speed.

In any case, thanks for any help.


jongscx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 10:22 PM   #2
Houston204's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 614
Rewards Points: 554

Furnace blower wiring...

An Ohm meter may help identify your terminals.



Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 03:53 PM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Furnace blower wiring...

...ok, oddness occurred when I probed it.

3 wires showed very little resistance to one each other and no connection to the other two.
the other two showed little resistance to one another and no connection to the other 3.

By little resistance, I mean like ~1-2 ohms and it was the same amount for each.
[I have an analog meter and it wouldn't zero to 0, so I "zeroed" it to 5 and it was reading 6-7 ohms at a 1ohm interval setting...]

Could it be something else going on here? Resistance didn't change when I turned the shaft (which I would assume would happen if it were an old brushed motor), and it looks like the shaft is wound as opposed to being a PM (not sure, will check tonight with a flashlight).

Could it be that the shaft is energized and the windings are energized in an alternating pattern to drive it? Not really sure if that's how these things happen, but just my wild guess.
jongscx is offline   Reply With Quote

5kh42er681s , furnace , hvac

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Luxaire furnace blower will not shut off danaugstin HVAC 1 10-06-2009 10:14 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 10:09 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
Bryant Furnace Blower Running Constantly GhostBuster HVAC 15 11-30-2008 10:08 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts