Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2011, 04:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


I just had a HVAC guy rewire my forced hot air furnace blower so that the blower can be turned on/off by itself (on a separate on/off switch) to circulate my coal stove warmed air throughout the house. It works fine but I want to be able to control it with a simple wall timer switch so that I can run it for short periods of time & have it turn itself off. It's low voltage so I don't know if a regular wall switch timer will work & I don't want it controled by temperature, just time.

Any thoughts?


Last edited by Devil505; 03-09-2011 at 04:22 PM.
Devil505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 04:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 323
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


Just pick up a simple spring wound timer for a bathroom exhaust fan at home depot and put in place of your manual on off switch and away you go.

If you wanted to be able to turn it off at any time, then put it in series with the manual switch and both would have to be on for the fan to run and you could shut it off before the time cycle was complete if you wanted to for any reason.

HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 04:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HVACDave View Post
Just pick up a simple spring wound timer for a bathroom exhaust fan at home depot and put in place of your manual on off switch and away you go.

If you wanted to be able to turn it off at any time, then put it in series with the manual switch and both would have to be on for the fan to run and you could shut it off before the time cycle was complete if you wanted to for any reason.
Thanks for the reply Dave. I had bought this http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053 but the HVAC guy (not an electrician) didn't think it would work because it's a low voltage line controling the furnce blower fan.
Think I could just replace the on/off swirch with this?
Devil505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 04:46 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 323
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


I think that one needs the 120 volt to operate the timer, that's why I recommend the spring wound type, then it's just a switch, no power required to operate the timer part.
HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 05:07 PM   #5
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


You could always go high tech with this

http://www.nextag.com/24-volt-timer/products-html

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 05:31 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HVACDave View Post
I think that one needs the 120 volt to operate the timer, that's why I recommend the spring wound type, then it's just a switch, no power required to operate the timer part.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
You could always go high tech with this

http://www.nextag.com/24-volt-timer/products-html

Mark
Thanks guys but I already put one switch box in the wall & I don't think I can sell my wife on knocking another hole!
(I'd like to have a switch/timer that will mount in a single electrical box)
Devil505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 05:59 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


Sorry Dave... misread your post & thought you were talking about adding a timer long with the switch I have. I'd like to find a silent electronic timer if there is such an animal.
Devil505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 06:20 PM   #8
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


Ok here one, will fit in your hole in the wall

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:36 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Unhappy

Furnace blower timer switch?


Devil505, How did your HVAC person make the rewiring to allow for the separate switch? I want that separate switch on the second floor so I don't need to go down to the lower lever to activate the blower from the switch located right on my thermostat.
I thought it was just a matter of adding my switch hooked to the G (which I though controls the blower) and R (24 v hot) terminals, in parallel with the thermostat. It works fine with if the thermostat (Honeywell TH4110D1007-0645) is not pushed into its base plate but once I install the Thermostat back, when I flip my switch on, the AC starts along with the blower, even though I am not connecting the Y wire (which I thought controls the AC) at all. It seems as if the thermostat is causing the connection whether it is in OFF, in HEAT or in COOL, regardless of the temperature settings.
Thanks.

Last edited by lettersoup; 11-10-2011 at 07:41 PM.
lettersoup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 08:49 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lettersoup View Post
Devil505, How did your HVAC person make the rewiring to allow for the separate switch? I want that separate switch on the second floor so I don't need to go down to the lower lever to activate the blower from the switch located right on my thermostat.
I thought it was just a matter of adding my switch hooked to the G (which I though controls the blower) and R (24 v hot) terminals, in parallel with the thermostat. It works fine with if the thermostat (Honeywell TH4110D1007-0645) is not pushed into its base plate but once I install the Thermostat back, when I flip my switch on, the AC starts along with the blower, even though I am not connecting the Y wire (which I thought controls the AC) at all. It seems as if the thermostat is causing the connection whether it is in OFF, in HEAT or in COOL, regardless of the temperature settings.
Thanks.
I had the HVAC guy do it so I'm not sure how it was connected at the furnace but I know the thermostat wire was only a 2 wire...so he had to either run a new 3 wire to the thermostat or just bypass it & connect a simple on/off fan switch for me. (which is what I wanted in the basement anyway)
Devil505 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 12:45 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default

Furnace blower timer switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Devil505 View Post
Thanks for the reply Dave. I had bought this http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053 but the HVAC guy (not an electrician) didn't think it would work because it's a low voltage line controling the furnce blower fan.
Think I could just replace the on/off swirch with this?

Here is a timer that works on the low voltage signals at the thermostat. It doesn't use batteries and is designed to cycle the fan as often and for as long as you want. It is called ThermGuard. It can be installed by anyone in 5 minutes.

www.bearmountaindesign.com

This might help anyone else with a similar problem.

John

bridgerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch Quin HVAC 51 01-04-2013 11:46 AM
Help with furnace blower problem Spydey HVAC 6 12-15-2010 08:18 PM
Furnace limit switch Deereman HVAC 1 12-11-2010 10:56 AM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 01:21 AM
How to install leviton 6230 timer switch diydan Electrical 12 05-27-2009 09:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.