Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2011, 08:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


I have a gas Rheem furnace model # 80pj07ear01 with central air. My a/c and heater work but my blower will not turn off with the thermostat set on AUTO.

I'm not sure where the blower relay is located to give it a whack or two, is it on the board posted below?


I have also read in anouther post that ''the crossover tubes on the burners were clogged'' which caused the same problem I am having. Not sure how to clean those if thats the problem.







Do I need to replace this?? I found the same model (62-24268-03) on amazon for $98 shipped.


bob barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:41 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


its on the board...... however, first check for 24V from G to C at the board.... this will tell you if it is t-stat or relay in control board.

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
its on the board...... however, first check for 24V from G to C at the board.... this will tell you if it is t-stat or relay in control board.

Measured G to C and got ZERO, I dont know if that means my thermostat is bad or the relay
bob barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:09 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


it means that most likely the relay in the control board is stuck closed.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:15 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


Which one would I tap, A?


bob barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:18 PM   #6
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 1,002
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


Hard to say, tap them all.......... Most likely it wont do anything......... Replace the board....
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:21 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


Thank you for your knowledge
bob barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 10:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


www.hvacpartsoutlet.com if you plan on doing it yourself. Looks like yours is about $110. Check prices locally first and good luck

Last edited by Missouri Bound; 06-06-2011 at 10:41 PM. Reason: additional information
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 04:29 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,567
Rewards Points: 2,814
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


A. Should be the blower relay.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 02:00 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


**Update**

I ordered the board from a amazon seller for $100 and got it in 5-6 days. I just installed it and the unit works great
I checked with a local HVAc supply store and they wanted $225 for the board.
bob barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:44 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace blower stays on - I have read a bunch of posts


Thanks for the update; glad you got it working.

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace blower only runs VERY slow... tippet HVAC 12 12-04-2010 04:50 PM
Rheem furnace blower problems ellioant HVAC 0 11-23-2009 11:38 PM
furnace blower zendarx2 HVAC 15 04-28-2009 10:56 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
Bryant Furnace Blower Running Constantly GhostBuster HVAC 15 11-30-2008 09:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.