Furnace Blower Motor PLEASE HELP - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2010, 10:45 AM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Disconnect the wires from the board, and remove entire housing from furnace.
Remove insert plates, Pull blower motor, off of wheel.
Install new whell, make sure its facing the right direction.
And reverse disassembly steps.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 10:50 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Disconnect the wires from the board, and remove entire housing from furnace.
Remove insert plates, Pull blower motor, off of wheel.
Install new whell, make sure its facing the right direction.
And reverse disassembly steps.
Thanks for everything, really appreciate it
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 01:12 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Insert plates is where i'm caught up, did you mean the parts of the wheel?
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 01:22 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Yup, scrambled blower wheel. You say parts are warrantied. I would leave the repair to your HVAC contractor.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 01:25 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Thanks alrighty got it apart, my only question is how i get the new wheel on?
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 01:26 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Does the one side ride on the end plate?
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 01:51 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


You need to loosen the set screw in the wheel hub. Remove the bolts that hold the motor in. Hopefully the wheel and housing slide free from the motor assembly. If not hold the shaft and spin the hub to loosen it. Remove the baffle plate from the top of the blower housing. Remove the old wheel and reverse the process. DO NOT scar up the blower motor shaft or put the wheel on backwards.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 02:05 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by SKIP4661 View Post
You need to loosen the set screw in the wheel hub. Remove the bolts that hold the motor in. Hopefully the wheel and housing slide free from the motor assembly. If not hold the shaft and spin the hub to loosen it. Remove the baffle plate from the top of the blower housing. Remove the old wheel and reverse the process. DO NOT scar up the blower motor shaft or put the wheel on backwards.
Baffle? Working on getting hub off now, not having much luck turning the set screw
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 02:35 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP-img00238-2-.jpgThis is where im at!
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:31 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Did you get it yet.
The set screw shouldn't be that hard to turn from that point.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:34 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Did you get it yet.
The set screw shouldn't be that hard to turn from that point.
Got the set screw out, however i can not get the wheel part off the shaft. I get it to where it's flush coming out but can't get past there. Any advice?
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:45 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Push the hub back to where it moves easier.
Then sand the shaft where it moves hard. then put a little oil on it. Should come off easy then.
Unless someone used a hammer on it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:47 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Push the hub back to where it moves easier.
Then sand the shaft where it moves hard. then put a little oil on it. Should come off easy then.
Unless someone used a hammer on it.
No hammer will have to try that thanks, hoping to get done tonight as it is very cold here, lol
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:48 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


If i had to buy a motor for it, do you know around how much it would run?
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 06:52 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


I get mine from HVAC wholesale houses.
Don't know what one would charge you.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 02:21 AM
Bryant Gas Furnace - blower sarts and stops montepix HVAC 7 12-24-2009 05:11 PM
How much power does a small furnace blower use? Red Squirrel HVAC 10 07-31-2009 10:03 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
Bryant Furnace Blower Running Constantly GhostBuster HVAC 15 11-30-2008 10:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts