Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-04-2010, 07:59 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Share |
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


I was out of town for a couple days, i came home to hear weird noise from furnace. It appears my fan has loosened and is brushing against the housing. Is there an easy solution? Have pics of furnace and housing if it would help!

Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 08:10 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Here is pic of furnace. Little over a year old!

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP-img00230.jpg

Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 08:45 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Set screw probably came loose.

Turn power off to furnace.

Reach hand in blower wheel on left side. Feel around hub. You will find a set screw. Probably loose. Move blower wheel back to center on housing. align set screw with flat spot on shaft. Tighten screw.

You should check to make sure that motor shaft isn't rounded.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 08:52 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Set screw probably came loose.

Turn power off to furnace.

Reach hand in blower wheel on left side. Feel around hub. You will find a set screw. Probably loose. Move blower wheel back to center on housing. align set screw with flat spot on shaft. Tighten screw.

You should check to make sure that motor shaft isn't rounded.
Thanks i just talk to the company and my parts are still under warrenty, question i have is the blower wheel come with the blower motor or is that a separate part?
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 08:57 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Separate part.

Blower wheel set screw coming loose is not covered under part warranty.
if its less then a year old. It is covered under installer labor warranty.

If more then a year old. Its a chargeable service call.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 08:59 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Thanks how would i get the housing out to check everything?
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:01 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


You don't need to pull the housing.
There is enough room to put your hand in and check(barely).

Make sure power is OFF!
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:04 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
You don't need to pull the housing.
There is enough room to put your hand in and check(barely).

Make sure power is OFF!
Did but it feels like the whole wheel is just off completely! the set screw seems fine as well as motor
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:08 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


If by off. You mean off center.

Screw may or may not wiggle. It may have just left the wheel slide 1/4 to 1/2 inch.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:17 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
If by off. You mean off center.

Screw may or may not wiggle. It may have just left the wheel slide 1/4 to 1/2 inch.
Will send pic! Is completely off

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP-_device-memory_home_user_pictures_img00232.jpg
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:19 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP-_device-memory_home_user_pictures_img00237.jpg
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:31 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Ok.

Yep. Blower wheel needs replaced.

Wheel probably under warranty if less then 5 years old. Labor isn't, if its more then a year old.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:33 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Ok.

Yep. Blower wheel needs replaced.

Wheel probably under warranty if less then 5 years old. Labor isn't, if its more then a year old.
Is this something i can replace on my own?
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:36 AM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Yeah.

Its not a fun thing. But not too hard. As long as you don't mix up the wires of the control board. During re-install of it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 09:39 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Furnace blower motor PLEASE HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yeah.

Its not a fun thing. But not too hard. As long as you don't mix up the wires of the control board. During re-install of it.
OK do i need to drop the housing?

Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 01:21 AM
Bryant Gas Furnace - blower sarts and stops montepix HVAC 7 12-24-2009 04:11 PM
How much power does a small furnace blower use? Red Squirrel HVAC 10 07-31-2009 09:03 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
Bryant Furnace Blower Running Constantly GhostBuster HVAC 15 11-30-2008 09:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.