Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2011, 07:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


My furnace's blower motor will not start and I'm fairly certain that I need to replace the motor. I conclude this because when I tried to spin the squirrel cage by hand it spun but there was definitely resistence. It didn't spin "freely" as I understand it should, it made one, maybe two revolutions. The capacitor appears fine. I'm not able to properly check it but planned on replacing it anyway just in case. I originally replaced the controller thinking that was the culprit.

I'm having a really hard time locating the replacement though. It's a G.E. motor, with "5KCP39MG" in small letters & "R887BS" in larger bolder letters. If I try to do a search on the letters combined I get nothing. When I search the smaller letters I find several different motors but nothing that seems to match up perfectly.

The other specs are: 1/2 hp, 115v, a 7.7, rpm 1100, hz 60, ph 1.

Any help on finding the right or comprable motor would be greatly appreciated.

bdoehring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:46 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


Post the make and model number of the furnace. Does it have more than one speed. Does it have more than 2 wires coming from it. Ie: red, yellow, brown and black. If so it is a multispeed motor and you can match it up at your local electric motor repair shop, take it with you as they should be able to cross reference it for you and get a mounting band if necessary. If not try Graingers, Acklands, Johnstone Supply. Get a new capacitor at the same time.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


It's a 4 speed motor.

I have kind of zeroed in on this one...

http://www.hvacpartsoutlet.com/Unive...r-MOT6001.aspx

It replaces many of the "5KCP39MG" motors, the only thing that doesn't match is the rpm. The motor above is rated at 1075 rpm & the one I pulled out of my furnace says 1100 rpm on the name plate. Is this difference of 25 rpm a big deal?
bdoehring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


Sorry, forgot the make & model...

It's a Consolidated Furnace model # mba 080 nh4r
bdoehring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:57 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


No. You may have to take a hacksaw and shorten the shaft on that one. Order a new capacitor also. If yours has the mounts welded to the motor that attach to the fan housing then you have to order a belly band adaptor for that one as it has no mounts. They have both lower on that page.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:16 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


Thanks Yuri! Forgot to ask, the squirrel cage should spin more freely than i described, right? Pointing to a bad motor?
bdoehring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:20 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


Yep. Should be able to turn it easily with 1 finger. Run it for awhile, should be able to hold your hand on it after running for 10 mins AND it should spin a dozen revs when slowing down. If it is too hot then it is seizing up.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:27 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


Thanks for the help!
bdoehring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:30 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


Sometimes they can be VERY difficult to get the motor out. Pro's use the "Ultimate puller" so the wheel does not get deformed and unbalanced. Whacking it with wood and a hammer is NOT a good idea.
http://sensibleproducts.com/ultimatepuller.html

Google Ultimate puller as some dealers sell it a lot cheaper than others.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:49 PM   #10
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,764
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


I have a puller but I've never once used it. WD 40 and grabbing the shaft with a crescent wrench while holding the wheel and spinning the shaft works just fine.

I made the mistake of using a hammer, once. Never again.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:50 PM   #11
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 463
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


Are you sure you want to fix that furnace? consolidated went out of business a long time ago.....................
Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 08:58 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace Blower Motor


I would love to replace it but don't have the means right now.

bdoehring is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower problem on American Standard Freedom 90 furnace ekimmo HVAC 8 08-27-2011 09:13 PM
Blower Motor in Carrier WeatherMaker 58MVP080 pbong HVAC 0 10-06-2009 08:08 PM
Trouble shooting a Blower Motor cougar HVAC 10 07-15-2008 08:14 AM
Blower Motor Wiring Help atvguy64 Electrical 7 02-03-2008 11:39 PM
Replace a furnace blower motor dadncharge HVAC 2 12-06-2007 09:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.