Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2011, 05:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace blower motor


hello, my blower will not run automatically on my furnace. the a/c unit runs outside and the fan will run, but not on auto. help

velva clayton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 11:55 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9,967
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace blower motor


Welcome to the forum!

I moved you to "HVAC" for better response...

Gary

__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 01:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

furnace blower motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by velva clayton View Post
hello, my blower will not run automatically on my furnace. the a/c unit runs outside and the fan will run, but not on auto. help
So to clarify, the blower will run only if the thermostat has the blower set to "on" and not when it's set to "auto"?

The problem is either the thermostat, the thermostat wiring, or the furnace controller.

What I would do is disconnect the thermostat, in case it's doing something strange, and jumper the Yellow to the Red wire (24V RC to Cooling Call). If the system operates normally in this mode, then it's the thermostat. If not, then the furnace controller board is not working properly.

If yours is a more complicated system, like a heat pump, then there will be more wires and the wire colors may be different.

Be sure you understand what wires do what, turn off the furnace breaker first, since 24V hurts a fair amount, and you could wipe out the furnace controller if you shorted it. If you are not comfortable working with this sort of thing, then a service call to a HVAC pro would get it fixed very quickly.

http://wiki.xtronics.com/index.php/T...8G.29_terminal
Robo_geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower problem on American Standard Freedom 90 furnace ekimmo HVAC 8 08-27-2011 10:13 PM
Blower Motor in Carrier WeatherMaker 58MVP080 pbong HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:08 PM
Trouble shooting a Blower Motor cougar HVAC 10 07-15-2008 09:14 AM
Blower Motor Wiring Help atvguy64 Electrical 7 02-04-2008 12:39 AM
Replace a furnace blower motor dadncharge HVAC 2 12-06-2007 10:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.