Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2012, 08:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Unhappy

Furnace blower forgets to start when temp drops.


My furnace "forgets" to start when house temp. drops bellow the thermostat settings. It's a Bryant gas furnace installed in 2000 (builders grade). I have go in the basement and turn off the switch and then back on again and the blower kicks in and furnace starts working fine, even for a couple of hours but then the same thing happens again. It started about 1 month ago and it only happened about 6 times with the exception of the last few days when we constantly have to manually turn off and back on the switch. It works fine until the temp. reaches the thermostats settings, and then again it won't start when temp. drops, except manually. Please help. I'm constantly running in the basement when it gets cold (I live in Michigan) to manually turn on switch. If it's something I can fix myself I sure could save some $. Thank you!

stanulet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 10:23 AM   #2
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Furnace blower forgets to start when temp drops.


Next time your furnace locks out, look for a blinking led light through a viewing port or through a grilled furnace door. It will be situated on your board. There should be a legend on the inside of the furnace that will list the diagnostic codes for what the fault is.
Let us know what you find.

how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,275
Default

Furnace blower forgets to start when temp drops.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanulet View Post
My furnace "forgets" to start when house temp. drops bellow the thermostat settings. It's a Bryant gas furnace installed in 2000 (builders grade). I have go in the basement and turn off the switch and then back on again and the blower kicks in and furnace starts working fine, even for a couple of hours but then the same thing happens again. It started about 1 month ago and it only happened about 6 times with the exception of the last few days when we constantly have to manually turn off and back on the switch. It works fine until the temp. reaches the thermostats settings, and then again it won't start when temp. drops, except manually. Please help. I'm constantly running in the basement when it gets cold (I live in Michigan) to manually turn on switch. If it's something I can fix myself I sure could save some $. Thank you!
is it 80% 90% are the filters clean???
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:09 PM   #4
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

Furnace blower forgets to start when temp drops.


with out more info it could be a dirty sensor
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange oil furnace problem: blower comes on before burner robparrott HVAC 6 12-12-2011 01:55 PM
Blower problem on American Standard Freedom 90 furnace ekimmo HVAC 8 08-27-2011 09:13 PM
Gas Furnace Won't Stay Running / Thermostat Set High To Start _scott HVAC 6 03-23-2011 07:27 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Furnace does't start when Fan is 'auto' stepicz HVAC 2 10-18-2005 06:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.