Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2008, 02:19 AM   #1
ice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: rockford, il
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


Alright,
Here is the problem... During the summer my wife and I noticed a huge electric bill spike... $90 average to $200. I assumed the ac was the culprit so we turned it down. Next month the bill went to $250. This is when I realized the blower is constantly on. The unit outside turns on and off as advertised when the thermostat dictacts, but in between there is always air circulating throughout the house. We resorted to turning the main power off to the unit and only turn it on from there as needed. Winter is fast approaching and this idea will not work so well for heating the house. When set to heating, the burner lights the gas comes out and everthing works as advertised, but once the correct yemp is reached, the gas shuts off the flame goes out and the blower stays on circulating cold air. Any ideas what could be causing this problem? I've seen alot of stuff about control boards with this particular model, but they are in reference to different problems. I have a Bryant unit model number 383KAV042091AHJA, serial number 4800A57873. The control board i have is HK42FZ009. Any help would be appreciated.

ice_wolf69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 02:26 AM   #2
Member
 
Lansing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


Get the system cleaned and serviced...NOW...It could have a bad part that turns on or off the blower motor...But you need a service man to check it...Your bearings could be damaged as well or at least need to be oiled with all the use its had...Cheaper to fix it right now...

__________________
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
When the time comes for you to leave this world
the only thing you get to keep is what you gave away...
Lansing
Lansing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 02:45 AM   #3
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


Yep, you are right, your circuit board needs replaced, there is a fan reley on the board that is sticking. That board has been updated to a hk42fz012 in believe.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 05:21 AM   #4
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


then again, he could simply have a bypass fan switch someone left "on".... no fix at all needed (well, turn off the switch, of course...)
just a thought.

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 10:19 AM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lansing View Post
Get the system cleaned and serviced...NOW...It could have a bad part that turns on or off the blower motor...But you need a service man to check it...Your bearings could be damaged as well or at least need to be oiled with all the use its had...Cheaper to fix it right now...

Furnace motors have what are called permanently lubricated bearings. You no longer oil them.


Running a motor in the fashion described here will certainly not cause motor damage.

There is less wear and tear on a motor running full time than the one that starts and stops several times a day.This is due to the in-rush current that motor induces on start up.

We may be talking about two different things so if I took your wording wrong I apologize in advance: Clean and Service is just a PM service that goes over the furnace looking for possible faults to be detected before they cause a break down.

What the gent need is a Service Call to address the EXACT problem as it is now occurring.

There has been confusion on the part of the general public that they are on and the same. They are not.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 10-26-2008 at 10:32 AM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 10:32 AM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


around here, the guy they send to do the pm (periodic maintenance) is the same guy they send for repairs. so in essence, if he thinks a checkup is in line, go for it! then just mention the problem to the guy they send. he'll know for sure because he's there, and can either fix it right then if it's easy or he's just a nice guy in a good mood, or at least re-schedule a repair time. you win either way, as a service call costs around $80 for them to walk in the door, then hourly + parts, and the pm is usually $50 or $60. =o) of course, if you just bought the thing last year...... n/m

DM

Last edited by DangerMouse; 10-26-2008 at 10:35 AM.
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 10:40 AM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MdangermouseM View Post
around here, the guy they send to do the pm (periodic maintenance) is the same guy they send for repairs. so in essence, if he thinks a checkup is in line, go for it! then just mention the problem to the guy they send. he'll know for sure because he's there, and can either fix it right then if it's easy or he's just a nice guy in a good mood, or at least re-schedule a repair time. you win either way, as a service call costs around $80 for them to walk in the door, then hourly + parts, and the pm is usually $50 or $60. =o)

DM
A C/C around the tri county area (thorough job costs $80.00. That's what we get and there are 30 check points we do} I mention this only to differentiate between a C/C and a Srvice Call.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 10:41 AM   #8
What can I find here?
 
Winchester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


Was there a new thermostat installed prior to the problems happening? Just thinking outside the box here but if that were the case, sounds like a constant 24V hooked up to the fan that could have been done with a new thermostat.
Winchester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 03:14 PM   #9
ice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: rockford, il
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


I am assuming the unit was installed around 2001. Everthing was alredy here when I moved in including the thremostat. I was thinking along the lines of a stuck relay in the control board as well, but when i turn on the main power i get a 2 second delay, I hear a relay on the board click, a red led lights up and the blower starts. What is a blower motor bypass switch and where would it be? Could something have gone wrong with the thermostat to cause a constant 24v supply to the board? I am going to try and see if I have a constant 24v supply going to the board and update later. Thanks for the replys and all the help.
ice_wolf69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 04:35 PM   #10
ice
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: rockford, il
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


WOW I am a moron. Thanks for all your help. Somehow, somewhere, at sometime the fan auto/ on switch was moved to on insted of auto (and i got a theory how). Thanks again for all your help. Everything seems to be working normally now. P.s. if anyone lets someone watch their house for a week... check your thermostat when you get back.
ice_wolf69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 04:41 PM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MdangermouseM View Post
then again, he could simply have a bypass fan switch someone left "on".... no fix at all needed (well, turn off the switch, of course...)
just a thought.

DM
muahahahahahaha! chalk up another one to the mouse! lol
i love it when i'm right..... =o)

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 05:04 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


AArrgghhhh you're killin' me!


Call it by it's right name will'ya!
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 05:12 PM   #13
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


well, you know.... that switch on the thingy..... we have two of them, one on the thermostat like his, and a rocker on the front of the furnace too. this was too easy.... c'mon, gimme a HARD one.... roflmao

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 05:15 PM   #14
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


Ok gimme the Superheat diff between a DX sysytem and a flooded system



Go ahead and Google it .ROLAO
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 05:27 PM   #15
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace blower constantly running HELP!


google laffed at me and said there ain't no such word as sysytem.... hehehehe

DM

DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant 355MAV furnace and A/C blower not starting rajar2 HVAC 31 02-01-2014 12:03 PM
furnace blower keeps running dmbrasket@hotmail.com HVAC 7 02-03-2008 03:57 PM
RUUD furnace not working blower runs ddeatrick99@hotmail.com HVAC 2 01-16-2008 09:55 PM
replaced furnace blower now breaker issue Kurr HVAC 5 01-25-2007 09:22 PM
Furnace Blower Problem SGecko HVAC 2 09-27-2006 10:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.