Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2009, 10:51 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

furnace blower


Hello there
I looked though posts to see if I could find this information if its there rather than ask a question thatís been answered in the past. I couldnít find anything so Iíll ask now.

I would like to get my furnace blower working without the heat. Iím sure the reason itís not working is because of the thermocouple and how you donít want the fan blowing if the fire blows out, it shuts down the whole thing. Well thereís no fire or gas so thatís not a problem. I just want the blower working with out heat. Any ideas as how to get this to work are very much welcome.

7900 series
Model 7956-856
Coleman direct vent (sealed combustion system) Forced air furnace. Equipped with standing pilot.

zendarx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 11:48 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

furnace blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by zendarx2 View Post
Hello there
I looked though posts to see if I could find this information if its there rather than ask a question thatís been answered in the past. I couldnít find anything so Iíll ask now.

I would like to get my furnace blower working without the heat. Iím sure the reason itís not working is because of the thermocouple and how you donít want the fan blowing if the fire blows out, it shuts down the whole thing. Well thereís no fire or gas so thatís not a problem. I just want the blower working with out heat. Any ideas as how to get this to work are very much welcome.

7900 series
Model 7956-856
Coleman direct vent (sealed combustion system) Forced air furnace. Equipped with standing pilot.
The fan has nothing to do with your pilot (or visa-versa). While igniting your burners, its other job is to prevent gas flow in the event of an extinguished pilot.

Your thermostat should have a 'fan on' position, which can be selected. At the same time, you can turn the heat to the 'off' position. Previous describes older thermostats; newer ones controlled by pushing buttons.

V

veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 12:03 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,722
Default

furnace blower


Need to have the stat conneced to the G terminal of the furnace.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 07:25 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Default

furnace blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Need to have the stat conneced to the G terminal of the furnace.
Thank you, I'll give that a try soon.

The only options on the thermostat are 50-90 degrees.

"The fan has nothing to do with your pilot (or visa-versa)"

So if itís up and running in the winter and the fire is blown out the fan will still run?
zendarx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 07:28 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,722
Default

furnace blower


It will if you have the fan setting set to "on".

Most will bring the fan on automatically on a heat call. A few older ones won't.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:03 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Default

furnace blower


Well as long as the gas is shut off with a blow out then I guess I don't care if it stops blowing or not. Never had a blow out on any furnace but was told it all shut off in case of blow out.

I'll try the stat connected to the G terminal of the furnace being there's no "fan on" or anything else like that.

Thanks again
zendarx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 11:14 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,722
Default

furnace blower


What thermostat do you have
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 02:10 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

furnace blower


STANDING PILOT FURNACE MODELS
Below is a common parts list for the following furnace models:
7956C859, 7970C859, 7975C859, 7995C859 (Presidential, propane)
7956C856, 7970C856, 7975C856, 7995C856 (Presidential, natural gas)
7956B856, 7966B856, 7970B856, 7975B856, 7995B856 (Presidential, natural gas)
7956A856, 7966A856, 7970A856, 7975A856, 7995A856 (Presidential, natural gas)
7956-856, 7966-856, 7970-856, 7975-856, 7995-856 (Presidential, natural gas)



Must be an older mobile home furnace. Only reason a sealed combustion furnace would be a standing pilot
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 04-26-2009 at 02:14 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 10:52 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Default

furnace blower


Yes the model number is 7956-856,

hvaclover ďMust be an older mobile home furnace. Only reason a sealed combustion furnace would be a standing pilotĒ


Not sure what this means for me. Iíve done some general maintenance on furnaces in the past but thatís about it. Any clarification would be helpful.

beenthere ďWhat thermostat do you haveĒ

All it says is ďColemanĒ thereís a sticker that explains that you can slide an ďA-coil central airĒ part into it. Other than that the only markings on it are the temp setting.
zendarx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 11:40 AM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

furnace blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by zendarx2 View Post
Yes the model number is 7956-856,

hvaclover ďMust be an older mobile home furnace. Only reason a sealed combustion furnace would be a standing pilotĒ


Not sure what this means for me. Iíve done some general maintenance on furnaces in the past but thatís about it. Any clarification would be helpful.

beenthere ďWhat thermostat do you haveĒ

All it says is ďColemanĒ thereís a sticker that explains that you can slide an ďA-coil central airĒ part into it. Other than that the only markings on it are the temp setting.
What it means is that it's a furnace for mobile homes only. There should be a switch near where the burner peep hole is.

Does this A coil space on the furnace happen to be on the bottom of the furnace.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 11:41 AM   #11
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

furnace blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by zendarx2 View Post
Yes the model number is 7956-856,

hvaclover “Must be an older mobile home furnace. Only reason a sealed combustion furnace would be a standing pilot”


Not sure what this means for me. I’ve done some general maintenance on furnaces in the past but that’s about it. Any clarification would be helpful.

beenthere “What thermostat do you have”

All it says is “Coleman” there’s a sticker that explains that you can slide an “A-coil central air” part into it. Other than that the only markings on it are the temp setting.
What it means is that it's a furnace for mobile homes only. There should be a switch near where the burner peep hole is. This should turn on the fan with out the heat being used.

Does this A coil space on the furnace happen to be on the bottom of the furnace.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 04-27-2009 at 02:34 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 01:04 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 278
Default

furnace blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by zendarx2 View Post
Yes the model number is 7956-856,


All it says is ďColemanĒ thereís a sticker that explains that you can slide an ďA-coil central airĒ part into it. Other than that the only markings on it are the temp setting.
Beenthere, better put in an emergency call for Twilli.

V
veesubotee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 02:47 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,722
Default

furnace blower


We might have to. LOL
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 03:26 PM   #14
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

furnace blower


Quote:
Originally Posted by veesubotee View Post
Beenthere, better put in an emergency call for Twilli.

V
Shhhheeee.. why call Twili. I got the specks on Coleman furnaces from the late 70s to the late 90s.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 10:16 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 6
Default

furnace blower


I understand now thanks. I donít see anything resembling a switch near the peephole. Just the pilot knob, there is the ďon/offĒ switch in the middle but even with that left ďonĒ the fan wonít turn on. If pictures will help Iíll take a few, is it possible to post them in this thread?

zendarx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace blower, no heat


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant 355MAV furnace and A/C blower not starting rajar2 HVAC 31 02-01-2014 12:03 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
Bryant Furnace Blower Running Constantly GhostBuster HVAC 15 11-30-2008 09:08 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Furnace blower not working right. oiljumper HVAC 4 11-10-2008 10:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.