Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2012, 10:10 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Is this furnace big enough?


Hello everybody, this is my first post on the DIY forums. Sorry if it is a long one. My sister and I have been working on updating and remodeling our fathers house. The house is 768 sq ft on the main floor and is in Portland, OR. It is a single level house with a basement. It has a forced air oil burning furnace which has always worked well in the past. The original duct work is still in tact on the main floor. In the basement it was never framed properly but there were a couple rooms "divided" out with some non anchored walls. Those two rooms each had one duct in the past coming straight off the furnace.

We have properly framed in the basement at this point with insulated exterior walls. We now need to get some proper duct work into the rooms. There are existing ducts going through the rooms that we planned on tapping off of to get vents opened up in the rooms. Before I do anything though I was curious about how many sq ft the furnace should be able to heat. If it heated the space before without insulation I would assume that it would work just fine now too. If anybody out there knows a bit about HVAC I would appreciate some input. I have taken a picture of the model info from the furnace ... I hope it helps.

Thanks for any information or opinion you can provide. :-)
Attached Thumbnails
Is this furnace big enough?-img_20120417_184030.jpg  

NickPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 11:02 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,638
Default

Is this furnace big enough?


A Manual J which is a heat load calulation performed on a structure is how a system is sized to a home via how many btu's a structure loses or gains per hour.

Without one I'd have to suspect that your existing system will be okay if not too big now that the envelope (insulation on exterior walls) has been tightened.

You no longer will be losing as much heat as it was when the system was first installed in the home.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
NickPDX (04-18-2012)
Old 04-18-2012, 12:36 PM   #3
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Is this furnace big enough?


The furnace you have is twice if not three times too big for the small sq footage you have.
A maual "J" and a manual"D" is the only way to know what size you really need.
Because the furnace is so big it will continuely short cycle and cost way more for fuel than it should.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-18-2012), NickPDX (04-19-2012)
Old 04-18-2012, 04:54 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,807
Default

Is this furnace big enough?


Yep, that furnace was over sized before you insulated in the basement. Of course, back when that furnace was made, it was hard to get a smaller oil fired furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (04-18-2012), NickPDX (04-19-2012)
Old 04-19-2012, 04:22 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Is this furnace big enough?


I had a good feeling that the furnace would be more than large enough to heat the house. Even though I understand the only way to know for sure would be doing the proper tests ... thank you all for confirming it based on your knowledge and gut feelings! :-)

Now that it looks like we are ready to get the duct work installed I do have some questions for that process. Would it be best to create a new topic post or just continue the conversation in here? My questions are mostly around heat vent locations and cold air returns in the basement.

Thanks again for the help!
NickPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
oil furnace


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 06:42 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 01:12 PM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 10:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.