Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2011, 07:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

furnace, auto fan not working


the burner comes on but the auto fan won't come on
we can turn on the fan manual and that works OK
the fan works fine on air conditioner auto

Ken A. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:17 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

furnace, auto fan not working


probably your flame sensor is dirty or has ground problem.

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 07:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 423
Default

furnace, auto fan not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
probably your flame sensor is dirty or has ground problem.
He says the burner is running. Probably has a bad fan/limit switch.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:02 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

furnace, auto fan not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy37 View Post
He says the burner is running. Probably has a bad fan/limit switch.

I know, but he also says the blower motor is working in cooling mode and auto.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:27 PM   #5
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

furnace, auto fan not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken A. View Post
the burner comes on but the auto fan won't come on
we can turn on the fan manual and that works OK
the fan works fine on air conditioner auto
It can be a fan relay switch or limit. If it has control board then it a relay on the board. You be able take board of bracket and see if burn up on backside .
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:28 PM   #6
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

furnace, auto fan not working


Depending on what type of furnace it is, Its either the fan limit switch or the circuit board.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:55 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,611
Default

furnace, auto fan not working


I don't even understand the problem.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 08:55 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 423
Default

furnace, auto fan not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
I know, but he also says the blower motor is working in cooling mode and auto.
He says if he puts the fan from auto to on that it works. It also works in cooling mode but it wont turn on in heat, that tells me that the fan/limit switch which is seperate from the fan relay, which controls the cooling and fan on, is bad.

I recently worked an old Carrier gas pack with the same issue and instead of fixing the bad part, the last tech on the job set the back of the thermostat from gas to electric, that way in heating mode it was relying on the fan relay. This is bad though because the heat exchanger doesnt get to cool down after the call for heating is over, just instant stop.

I had to replace the fan/limit switch in that and all was well.

And like the others said, if the unit has a board, that could be bad also.
sammy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:22 AM   #9
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

furnace, auto fan not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy37 View Post
He says if he puts the fan from auto to on that it works. It also works in cooling mode but it wont turn on in heat, that tells me that the fan/limit switch which is seperate from the fan relay, which controls the cooling and fan on, is bad.

I recently worked an old Carrier gas pack with the same issue and instead of fixing the bad part, the last tech on the job set the back of the thermostat from gas to electric, that way in heating mode it was relying on the fan relay. This is bad though because the heat exchanger doesnt get to cool down after the call for heating is over, just instant stop.

I had to replace the fan/limit switch in that and all was well.

And like the others said, if the unit has a board, that could be bad also.
I agree, but I want to see if OP will tell us if burner stay on for a couple minutes or turn on/off quickly

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RUUD Furnace Fan Won't Run on 'Auto' eggerldave HVAC 5 07-11-2011 10:21 AM
Where to donte a working furnace? vkaura HVAC 2 12-25-2010 07:58 PM
Furnace is working but no heat Lon1974 HVAC 21 09-12-2010 10:00 PM
RUUD furnace not working blower runs ddeatrick99@hotmail.com HVAC 2 01-16-2008 09:55 PM
Furnace not working right TheBillman HVAC 2 11-20-2005 05:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.