Furnace Adequate For Addition? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2013, 02:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

furnace adequate for addition?


So I'm building an addition to my home and hoping the current furnace is up to the task. the existing home is 1312 sq/ft and the addition will be 545 for a total of 1850 sq/ft. -- so still a pretty modest sized home. my current furnace is a Weil-Mclain WGO-4 with a DOE heating capacity of 145. I have hot water heat with a circulating pump and the new and old house are all fully insulated. I'm in NE NJ in Bergen county. is there a way to get a rough sense of whether the furnace is up to the new task now for planning purposes -- i know ultimately i will need to go to a professional for help! thanks john p

Advertisement

yellowkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 05:38 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 27,397
Rewards Points: 6,402
Default

furnace adequate for addition?


A WGO-4 is a fairly large boiler for a 1312 sq ft home. So it should be plenty big for also heating your addition.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 09:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 81
Rewards Points: 75
Default

furnace adequate for addition?


great thank you I was getting to the same conclusion but far better to have second opinions and learned ones! of course now I wonder why they sold me such a big one in the first place, but live and learn, and ask more questions.
yellowkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:16 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 27,397
Rewards Points: 6,402
Default

furnace adequate for addition?


Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowkid View Post
great thank you I was getting to the same conclusion but far better to have second opinions and learned ones! of course now I wonder why they sold me such a big one in the first place, but live and learn, and ask more questions.

Old rule of thumb sizing method. Stand across the street, hold your hand out in front of your face. How ever many fingers it takes to cover the house, thats how big of a boiler you need in sections. Ain't too many houses that need more then 10 sections. LOL
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 06:01 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 07:42 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 02:12 PM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 11:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts