Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-04-2007, 03:00 PM   #1

Share |
Exclamation

Furnace acting strangely

I have a Coleman Evcon electric ignition gas Furnace, I do not know much at all about this stuff, but lately it has been acting funny, it ignites and it sounds like a small motor is on, and then the big blower motor will kick on, then off, then on, then off, intermitently. It is on for only a couple of seconds before turning off again. It will eventually stay on, after three or four, sometimes more, tries and only seems to do this every couple of days. I thought the t-stat was bad, of course, and replaced it, but it did not solve the issue. It seems to only do this at night or early morning(????), but i have noticed it during the day as well. Any help would be useful and very appreciated, I am a student and do not have a lot of money to put into a furnace right now. I am pretty handy and know a little about electrical and such.....so hopefully I can fix it with a little help. THANKS!!!

Boulderv7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 03:24 PM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man

Furnace acting strangely

Hi Boulderv7

I hope its not cold where you are at. The first thing you will want to do is locate the flue pipe. Get up on the roof, you will see either a piece that looks like a hubcap or a pie pan on the top of the flue. Take the screws out of this piece, take a flashlight and look inside the pipe. If you see a bunch of debris in the bottom of the pipe. The concentric will have to be removed and debris vacuumed out. If you don't see any debris, make sure the center pipe is not rusted out. If everything is ok on the flue side. You will more than likely need a new inducer assy. The model of this furnace will either be a DGAT or a DGAA. If you let me know I can tell you what part # to use if the inducer is needed.

Good luck
Rusty