Furnace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2010, 07:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace


the flame goes around the burner instead of up, what would do this?

Advertisement

needhelp72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 07:53 PM   #2
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace


Plugged heat exchanger cell or plugged chimney.

Turn off furnace ASAP ...your furnace is producing carbon monoxide

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 07:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace


how do you unplug the cell?
needhelp72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:01 PM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace


The cell could be cracked. Is there a lot of rust or soot on the of the top of the burner and underneath it? Are all the burners doing this>

How old is the furnace. Sorry, but important to know.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:17 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace


there is a lot of soot in the one space, the other 2 are working normal. the furance is about 15 years old
needhelp72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:30 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace


ok..not to scare you, but this is a serious problem.

The furnace is old and you have one cell that is burning badly...could be a crack.

Given the age of the furnace i would replace it or change the entire heat exchanger, understand this is the advice I would give you were I checking your furnace in person.


It is important to get a qualified hvac tech to safety check your furnace.

You have a "Red Tag" situation that would force the furnace to be shut off for safety sake.

How the burner got that way is immaterial right now becasue the damage is already done.

I can only help you with the information I have given you.

Call a tech but shut the furnace off ..it is unsafe.

Good Luck
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:43 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

furnace


Your furnace IS producing carbon monoxide and that is dangerous and deadly. CO is produced by incomplete combustion/mixing of the gas with air and your plugged exchanger is causing that to happen. SHUT it down and call a Pro or the gas co if they have service techs to find out why it is doing that.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:46 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Your furnace IS producing carbon monoxide and that is dangerous and deadly. CO is produced by incomplete combustion/mixing of the gas with air and your plugged exchanger is causing that to happen. SHUT it down and call a Pro or the gas co if they have service techs to find out why it is doing that.
Must be an echo in here
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:51 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

furnace


Remember the guy last yr who would not believe us? Said he was used to the smell of CO as he breathed it in all the time in his garage. Did not believe in CO detectors. Just want to make sure the OP takes it seriously and not trying to save a buck and let it go.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:56 PM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Remember the guy last yr who would not believe us? Said he was used to the smell of CO as he breathed it in all the time in his garage. Did not believe in CO detectors. Just want to make sure the OP takes it seriously and not trying to save a buck and let it go.
That guy turned out to be one of the pros who hangs out an another site. He comes here all the time impersonating home owners.

But yeah, I do agree two opinions are better than one
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:07 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

furnace


Maybe a bit "brain damaged" from breathing in the ole CO gases.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:12 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace


He has posted how much he hates what we pros do here...
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:27 PM   #13
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,041
Rewards Points: 720
Default

furnace


Thats too bad. I am sure we are not stealing his customers.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:22 PM   #14
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by needhelp72 View Post
there is a lot of soot in the one space, the other 2 are working normal. the furance is about 15 years old

Lack of maintance. At that age that unit should have been check every heat season b-4 use
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:49 PM   #15
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
Lack of maintance. At that age that unit should have been check every heat season b-4 use
lol.. jeeze the guy probably feels bad enough....

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvaclover For This Useful Post:
needhelp72 (10-08-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 03:24 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts