Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2008, 07:16 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Furance room ventalliation


It's tight, but an average size person can squeeze in. It's doable but not enjoyable. There is about a foot around the back side, a foot around the left side, about 3 feet in front, and about 6 feet on the right.

n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:30 PM   #17
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


Quote:
Originally Posted by n0c7 View Post
It's tight, but an average size person can squeeze in. It's doable but not enjoyable. There is about a foot around the back side, a foot around the left side, about 3 feet in front, and about 6 feet on the right.
if by the front you mean where the furnace panels are, than you are OK.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:43 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


Yup, basically if you look at the picture I posted above, the furnace is on the left side of the door. Thats a 36" door opening, and the furnace is still a few inches back(you can see the BX and gas line). The fresh air source is right in front of the furnace.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 07:48 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


So since my setup does appear to be ok, I went out and purchased two brand new Kidde AC plugin w/ battery backup Natural Gas, Propane, CO Combo Detectors. Best I could find in the store. Now do I dare ask the best location to plug these in? I've thoroughly read the manual and they are very unclear however they do state not to mount one in the furnace room which is where I wanted to. They claim that dust grease may clog the sensors over time. They also say that if you want to detect propane, you can mount the detector low(I don't have propane) but if I want to detect natural gas that I should mount it high. I'm not worried about either and the manual does not mention the preferred height for just detecting CO. I also read the manual for their CO only detector and it doesn't say either.

I plugged one into a receptacle on our second floor in the bedroom hallway. Figured that will do. Just not sure what to do with the one for the basement.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 08:16 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


Quote:
Originally Posted by n0c7 View Post
So in the case of an enclosed room, where and how does it draw that air from?
I guess "normal infiltration"; tiny cracks around doors, windows, outlets bleeding air into the room from the hollow walls, eventually leading to the outside.
Houses that are really "tight" may have a problem supplying combustion air.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 08:41 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
I guess "normal infiltration"; tiny cracks around doors, windows, outlets bleeding air into the room from the hollow walls, eventually leading to the outside.
Houses that are really "tight" may have a problem supplying combustion air.
So with a fresh air supply from the outside right in front my my furnace....
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 09:04 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


So the only symptom is a warm furnace room?

The lifetime of equipment halves for each 10C rise above ambient temp. I wouldn't worry unless it's really hot in there.

With a fresh air intake, why is it so hot in there?
Is this heat you're paying for that is going outside?
You might put a candle flame near the flue and see if the flame is drawn towards the pipe. Otherwise, maybe the flue is plugged?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 10:53 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


I through a digital thermometer in there, I will post results tomorrow AM. I wouldn't say its extremely hot, just a lot warmer than a typical room.

Last edited by n0c7; 11-09-2008 at 10:59 PM.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 08:15 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


Fluctuated between 22-24C (71-75F). Actually not that bad but when the furnace is running you don't want to be sitting in there having a coffee. I think the issue is that the appliances create alot of warm air that lingers for awhile in there...
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 09:20 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


Since I have my office right next to the furnace room as mentioned(and you have to enter the office to get to the furnace room), if I was to close the entrance door to the office and open the bifold closet door to the furnace room, is my return air duct in the office ceiling any sort of hazard? It's about 8 feet away from the furnace.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 12:55 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


So I phoned the city to see if I could get one of their guys out to do an inspection again. I explained my setup of the furnace room, fresh air intakes, solid bifold door, office part of the furnace room, return air located in the office etc.

My questions, his answers:

Q: Is the fresh air supply sufficient enough for a enclosed furnace room?
A: Yes, in all new homes including mine this is the standard way of doing things and it should be around a 5" diameter pipe near the furnace.(Mine appears to be about 6" diameter). There is also a fresh air intake connected to the furnace.

Q: Do I need a louvered door?
A: No, since I have the fresh air intake for combustion air, a solid door is acceptable. Louvered doors were the preferred method in older setups that had no fresh air intake running to the floor and where furnaces had a return air duct placed on them.

Q: I have an office attached to the furnace room with a return air located in the ceiling. With the office door closed and the furnace room door open, the office essentially becomes part of the furnace room and now has a return air duct located within the area. Should I block this return air duct?
A: No. Technically you cannot have a return air duct inside the furnace room, but with this layout it should not cause you any issues and the benefits of comfort in the office with the return air duct in place outweigh any potential hazards.

Q: Can I place a CO detector in the furnace room?
A: Yes, but you may find yourself getting false readings when the hot water tank fires up as it will omit some CO on startup. Installing CO detectors should help you with your paranoia.

He sounded like he knew his stuff... The only thing I forgot to ask him was about the furnace room being warm. My temps have not gone past 25C(77F) when the house is set at 22C(72F). I think its warm in there just from the appliances running, the ducts warming, and the flue getting as hot as it does. Is this normal for the room to be a bit warmer and for the heat to linger around as it doesn't really have anywhere to go?
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 02:23 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


Quote:
Originally Posted by n0c7 View Post
I think its warm in there just from the appliances running, the ducts warming, and the flue getting as hot as it does. Is this normal for the room to be a bit warmer and for the heat to linger around as it doesn't really have anywhere to go?
I think only the furnace manu. can answer that question as to the normal heat rise in a small room due to the furnace being there. With a 95% efficient furnace, 5% of all those BTUs are going elsewhere, most up the flue, some into the room.

I'd try somehow to pipe that heat elsewhere in the house; that room would be cooler and you'd be getting all the heat you paid for.

An opening near the top of the room would remove hot air by natural convection, or a quiet fan in the room would redistribute the heat, maybe having it warmer near the floor instead of the other way around.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 11-10-2008 at 02:25 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 02:52 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


My bedroom wall is one of the partition walls to the furnace room. I guess I could cut somehow pipe to there if I feel its necessary. Should I be concerned about this though or as long as the room stays roughly around room temps should it be ok?
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 10:47 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


My only real question left is - with a fresh air supply that goes into the furnace, and another that dumps to the floor with a 6" pipe, is it really necessary to cut grills in high and low to the furnace room? My city says no, but from reading online some cities in the states say yes.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 11:26 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furance room ventalliation


I don't feel that you need to do anything else to the setup you have. If it meets code which it seems to according to your conversation with the inspector. The furnace room is going to get warm with the equipment running, the heat is radiant coming from the chimney and from the furnace body itself. I have never seen a furnace with the outside casing completly insulated so of course when it gets hot it is going to radiate heat. The heat will disipate fairly quickly when the unit goes off.

Black Adder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raising Doorway Height (load bearing?) treefrog Building & Construction 6 02-25-2008 09:11 PM
Heat pump in non insulated nor heated room robdville HVAC 3 01-21-2008 02:51 PM
Hardwood flooring - 3 walls and a sunken living room basledder Flooring 1 12-09-2007 05:34 PM
Room to Room Vent cjpilot HVAC 5 12-02-2007 08:53 PM
My kids room is cold snmhanson HVAC 5 12-20-2006 11:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.