Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2010, 10:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Share |
Default

Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line


I purchased a boiler that has a Suntec pump on it. The unit was originally setup for a single line *supply*.

I have two lines in my basement, I realize I could run the pump with a single line, but I imagine 2 is better....for starters, basically no priming.

I cant seem to find a manual for this pump, but a google brings back results that I may need to install a by-pass plug (allen screw) in the return port should I decide to use a 2 line setup.

This doesnt make sense, it would seem that I would need to install this if I was doing only 1 line *supply* and no return.

Do I need to do a supply/return?

Anyone care to give some insight?
Attached Thumbnails
Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line-img_6657.jpg  
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 10:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line


Yes for a 2 pipe system you need a bypass plug. If you need a 2 pipe system is up to you I don't think it is needed in most cases. I see people adding 2 pipe, and tigerloops instead of fixing the problem.
bervin306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 10:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line


I dont know if it is what I need or not.

The old furnace I took out when I put the heat pump in, had a two line system.

I am putting the boiler in and am plumbing the fuel lines now. I guess if I decide if I want to go ahead and make it 2-line, I need to find the by-pass plug....guess I Should have taken the one out of the old furnace before I sold it.

My fuel oil tank is buried. I estimate the bottom of the tank to be about 3' above the burner. However, the lines come into the basement wall about 2' higher than the bottom of the tank, they then go up, follow the main I beam across, and then drop 7' down to the oil burner. In the end, the burner is LOWER than the bottom of the fuel oil tank.

Total lineset length is approximately 35'.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest

Last edited by AndrewF; 01-24-2010 at 10:55 PM.
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:12 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line


You shouldn't need a 2 pipe system. They are nice so as not to have trouble priming/bleeding the pump.
But. Once you it has oil to it. your vacuum should be well within the limits of that pump.

Hope you marked those oil lines before you disconnected them from your old oil pump.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
AndrewF (03-04-2010)
Old 01-25-2010, 09:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Hope you marked those oil lines before you disconnected them from your old oil pump.
Nope, I had planned on digging out the tank too.

How can I figure out which line is which? Do both lines typically go to the bottom of the tank or will one go to the bottom and one to the top?

If the later, I can figure it out pretty easy with an air compressor and a bucket.

If I force air in one line and get only air out the 2nd, then I know the one I am forcing air in is the supply line.

However, if I force air in either one and get oil...then I havent a clue.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:29 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line


Actually, I just found photos of the old furnace, and I think I know which pipe was which based on that photo.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 03:23 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line


On many tanks. The return line is not ran into the tank very far.

The line that had the ol filter, is the supply. Got picks of that area.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
On many tanks. The return line is not ran into the tank very far.

The line that had the ol filter, is the supply. Got picks of that area.
What confused me as to which line was which was that they had cut the lines at one point and installed to gate valves. When I unhooked the old furnace, I unhooked the lines at the gate valves.

I happened to notice that one gate valve was about 8" further than the other one...in my pictures from before I told the old system out, I was able to trace the lines and figure out that was the line that had the filter assembly on it...thereby the supply line.

Now to hope the oil in tank is "ok" from not having fresh oil added for 2+years.
Attached Thumbnails
Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line-old-hvac-img_1125.jpg  
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest

Last edited by AndrewF; 01-25-2010 at 06:11 PM.
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:12 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,446
Default

Fuel Oil Burner - Pump - 2 line


Should be. But, you never know.

Its a distillate. So it does have a life span. And does begin to separate.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 03:10 PM
Well Pump to Generator Question Sprice Electrical 1 02-11-2009 11:27 AM
Broken Burner Fix mikelbeck HVAC 2 01-16-2009 09:05 PM
Sewer gas smell in basement from sump pump mirage212 Plumbing 15 10-23-2008 06:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.