Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 04:42 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Share |
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by M3 Pete View Post
is all the white stuff ice?

The HVAC pros can tell you better, but that looks like your evaporator coil under all that ice. Has your A/C been on?
No. The entire unit has been off most of late March into April as the temps ranged from 60 to 90 lately. A few nights I'd run the heat if the temps dipped, like last night when it was rainy out. No A/C, and heat was set to about 69 or 70 when on.

darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:45 PM   #17
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

FROST on HVAC?


When you put the sysem onto "fan on" mode to only bring on the inside blower, does it come on? If a blower motor goes out it can also cause freeze up, lack of air flow. Now if it freezes up and the blower motor keeps running such as when on call for "cool", the motor can then fry itself, why I said to turn it off last night, but if it runs then it's leans even more towards it being a refrigerant leak.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:45 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Your filter doesn't look too bad but you should've turned off the system last night and left it off. It would have thawed out by now, enough to add refrigerant and/or find the leak. It could not have frozen up today unless it was running.

I'd be willing to bet you have a leak. At this point it's best to call an hvac company to resolve this issue. Working with refrigerant requires special licenses and special tools.
Last night we ran the heat because it was in the 40s and rainy outside. Heat was at 69. This morning in the rush to leave I thought I had simply turned it down to 65, when in fact I must have turned it OFF once I saw the problem. So theoretically its been off all day since this morning. Maybe a little bit of thawing occurred as you see there is ice on the filter and dripping water. But maybe there is so much ice it needs more time?
Interestingly the heat was not on the last few days, just yesterday and last night.
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:46 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
When you put the sysem onto "fan on" mode to only bring on the inside blower, does it come on? If a blower motor goes out it can also cause freeze up, lack of air flow. Now if it freezes up and the blower motor keeps running such as when on call for "cool", the motor can then fry itself, why I said to turn it off last night, but if it runs then it's leans even more towards it being a refrigerant leak.
Yes, "fan on" mode does indeed turn on.
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:48 PM   #20
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darthsmozers View Post
No. The entire unit has been off most of late March into April as the temps ranged from 60 to 90 lately. A few nights I'd run the heat if the temps dipped, like last night when it was rainy out. No A/C, and heat was set to about 69 or 70 when on.

Perhaps it wasn't yourself who turned it on but it was running today, if that pic is from today that is.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 04:51 PM   #21
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Your filter doesn't look too bad .
That's the backside. Flip it over to see the dust.
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 05:54 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Would a dirty filter (dirty as in just about the normal amount of time as stated on the package, about 90 days) really cause that much ice to accumulate?

If I put in a new filter and turn the unit on, what will happen to all the ice and consequential water?
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:03 PM   #23
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

FROST on HVAC?


It's not your filter, you have a refrigerant leak. All the ice would melt and then run out of your drain lines, if they are clear. There are drain lines on an a/c system due to the dehumidification process that occurs. When your a/c is running it's pulling moisture from the air, drying it out. The ice would melt and run out those same drains lines.

Again, it's not the filter. If an entire lineset freezes up such as yours, between the compressor and the inside evaporator, then it's due to a refrigerant leak, gauranteed.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:43 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

FROST on HVAC?


The system has not been set on cool according to the OP. Had one like that this spring, DIY thermostat change out three years ago and they set it up as a heat pump even though it was AC and electric elements. AC ran with the electric heat on every call for heat, for 3 years, and ruined the compressor.

That will ice up a coil,and chew up a bunch of the electric budget.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:12 PM   #25
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

FROST on HVAC?


He also said it was never turned on, but it's iced up.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:11 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
He also said it was never turned on, but it's iced up.
Correct, A/C hasn't been on since last fall. Heat all winter, and just here and there lately.
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:12 AM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Our contractor's HVAC technician is going to look at it today. I'll post back what the consensus is!
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:13 AM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,523
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
He also said it was never turned on, but it's iced up.
Do you think he should maybe check why it was in a cooling mode when he had the stat set for heating.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:00 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Do you think he should maybe check why it was in a cooling mode when he had the stat set for heating.
Hoping so.
It did seem odd to be frozen when the heat was on. Warm ait was coming out, as far as i could tell, since we woke up comfortable and not chilly.
darthsmozers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 11:52 AM   #30
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

FROST on HVAC?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Do you think he should maybe check why it was in a cooling mode when he had the stat set for heating.
That'd be good reasoning.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help My Admiral Refrigerator is leaking water Cuwillis Appliances 10 03-25-2014 08:21 AM
Frost on a concrete wall. sbmfj Insulation 11 01-31-2012 11:14 AM
Runaround - HVAC and HWH proper venting/exhaust denemante HVAC 24 04-05-2011 08:50 PM
moving HVAC system - can I go without gas for a few days? denemante HVAC 2 03-30-2011 04:55 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.