Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2006, 03:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Friedrich A/C Advise


Hi, I am about to purchase a Friedrich Wallmaster A/C Thru wall mount. I am wondering which would be the most efficient when it comes to electricity?

Friedrich 14,700 BTU's
EER 8.7
230/208
V 1693 Watts 7.7 Amps
or
Friedrich 13,500 BTU's
EER 9.5
115 Volts
1415 Watts 12 Amps

I know the higher the EER the better, but one of these is 115 Volts, the other is 220Volts. I was told 220 volts is much cheaper to run. Looking for the experts on this. Thanks

helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 03:10 PM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Friedrich A/C Advise


Hi helplesshandyman

If you have the ability to do so, the 240 unit is definatley cheaper to operate. When it comes to electric heat you will definately be money ahead. But if they have it available look into a heat pump version with electric backup. Let me know if I can help any further, I would also reccomend getting mdshunks opinion he is pretty sharp also.

Good luck
Rusty

#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 03:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Friedrich A/C Advise


Thanks, I will wait on MDSHUNKS opinion as well. I am in the process of installing a unit, 110 or 220 isn't a problem since my electrician will be in next week to do the line. I figure the 220 is cheaper to run, only a/c I am not purchasing a a/c heat unit. The only thing is that the 220 Volt has an EER of 8.7, and the 115 volt is 9.5 EER. I have a local guy that has two units and is getting rid of them for like half the price! Thanks, I will wait on MD!
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 08:02 PM   #4
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Friedrich A/C Advise


Quote:
Originally Posted by helpless handyman View Post
230/208 V 1693 Watts 7.7 Amps
or

115 Volts 1415 Watts 12 Amps
Electricity is billed in kilowatt hours.

The 230 volt unit will rack up 1.693 kilowatts per hour that it runs
The 115 volt unit will rack up 1.415 kilowatts per hour that it runs.

Without investigating further specs on each unit, I can say preliminarily that the 115volt unit might have to run a bit longer to match the BTU's of total cooling that the 240 volt one is rated at. It would be nice to have the models on these units. If they are both the same unit, with the exception of the voltage and EER, the 115 volt unit will be cheaper to operate. Wait.... I see now that the 115 volt unit is a tad lower in BTU's. It will have to run a tiny bit longer to match the performance of the 230 volt unit. It might be a wash, in that case.

Kilowatts is kilowatts, and it matters not what voltage it comes from. The advantage to the higher voltages comes with smaller wire gauge sizes, thus lowered installation costs. There are no efficiencies gained by operating otherwise identical equipment at higher voltages. Only lowered branch circuit install costs.

Last edited by mdshunk; 11-27-2006 at 08:05 PM.
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 09:02 PM   #5
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Friedrich A/C Advise


Hi helplesshandyman

This is why I wanted you to get his opinion also. The reason that I personally recommended the 240 volt is for the recovery rate over the 115. Anyway the ultimate decision is yours. I like to have MD's opinion I really think he is a sharp cookie.

Good luck
Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 01:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Friedrich A/C Advise


I have a model TEC15K50STC.... It probably doesnt have 15 hours on it... it was installed new in '99 ... in 03 I had to have replaced (under warranty) most of the "flex drive system... today I ran it for an hour or so, then poof it quit again.. they say it has a "belt".. no if I could only get to it, and if that were the only problem.. With as little as I have used this I would NOT recommend them to ANYONE...

Any advice on this will be greatly appreciated.

Wray.........

Wray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
H20 line broke, need advise ASAP! joe3534 Plumbing 2 07-03-2007 08:40 AM
Need some serious advise on heating system helpless handyman HVAC 26 12-07-2006 05:28 PM
Needing some advise..... wooody_1 Flooring 6 10-25-2006 08:14 AM
Shingle experts - please advise anne Roofing/Siding 2 09-04-2005 08:19 PM
need some advise Hoonin Electrical 3 09-04-2005 04:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.