Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-07-2010, 09:57 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 36
Share |
Default

fresh air return question


I have recently installed a lennox G26 furnace in my basement. i was wondering if i should have a fresh air line from outside put into my return airplenym . This was not put in when the furnace was insatlled and i have seen some places that do this. This furnace will shutdown on high limit when it is trying to warm the house in the morning and i wonder if some fresh air would help this.

trump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 10:50 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

fresh air return question


Fresh air is to make up for the exhaust going out from bath fans and drier vents. It will not keep your furnace from over heating. Gas pressure too high, under sized duct, dirt filters, dirty evap coil, dirty secondary heat exchanger are the usuall causes of over heating. Don't remember exactly but think the last G26 was made 10 years ago . Good chance there's too much dirt build up on one of the above .

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:02 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

fresh air return question


Quote:
Originally Posted by trump View Post
This furnace will shutdown on high limit when it is trying to warm the house in the morning and i wonder if some fresh air would help this.
Sign of an oversized furnace.

Adding a fresh air intake will help to increase your heating bill.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:04 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,933
Default

fresh air return question


Furnace too big/oversized for the house. Oversized for the ductwork?
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:12 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 36
Default

fresh air return question


Furnace is 125000 btu. if the problem is oversize furnace would it be possible to change the burner or gas valve configuration to compensate for this?
trump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:15 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

fresh air return question


Quote:
Originally Posted by trump View Post
Furnace is 125000 btu. if the problem is oversize furnace would it be possible to change the burner or gas valve configuration to compensate for this?
Nope.

Did you buy it new. or used?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:19 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

fresh air return question


No. You could change the duct though. Might be cheaper to buy the right sized furnace if that is the problem.
I'd start with pulling the blower assembly out and checking the secondary heat exchanger for dirt first. Next would be checking the underside of the evap coil. Maybe can get by with changing the blower motor speed to a higher setting if all is clean.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:23 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 36
Default

fresh air return question


thanks for the replys

i bought it used. where is the evap coil located?
trump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:28 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

fresh air return question


Secondary heat exchanger is right on top of the blower in an upflow configuration. The evap coil sits on top of the furnace, you'll see the freon lines going to it. Sure it's not set up for propane?
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:28 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

fresh air return question


Quote:
Originally Posted by trump View Post
thanks for the replys

i bought it used. where is the evap coil located?
If you have A/C, it should be located in the plenum on top of the furnace.

Do a load calc, and see what size furnace you need. And then buy the right size. And sell this one. And caulk it up to a learning experience.

A proper sized furnace will save you money on your heating bill.

Just curious. How many sq ft is your house?
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:28 AM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,933
Default

fresh air return question


How many square feet is your house and where do you live? That is a BIG furnace.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:30 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 36
Default

fresh air return question


live in south east b.c. 1000 sq feet per floor 2 floors i dont think i have an evap coil no a/c
trump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:30 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,411
Default

fresh air return question


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
How many square feet is your house and where do you live? That is a BIG furnace.
Would take care of an average 4,000 sq ft house here.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:34 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

fresh air return question


never mind

Last edited by Marty S.; 02-07-2010 at 11:39 AM. Reason: slow typing, useless info for no ac
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:37 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 36
Default

fresh air return question


G26 q 3/4 -125-1

trump is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Enough Return Air? mjbxx HVAC 3 02-12-2009 06:26 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM
warm upstairs, cool down...should I change my return design? homey6660 HVAC 5 06-10-2008 08:47 PM
Cold air return question bubbles HVAC 1 06-05-2008 08:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.