Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2012, 09:56 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: HOWELL, MI
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Fresh air return on furnace necessary


I live in Michigan. Home was built in 1997 and is a modular design. We have a 90+ furnace a/c unit. Is it necessary to have a fresh air return that goes to my main return air trunk. If you need fresh air return wouldn't that interfere with the heating and cooling by reducing it's efficiency? Is there a way to increase efficiency in way of special damper? Our water heater is a Rinnai tankless. Thanks for any suggestions.

EFTHIM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 10:03 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,415
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Fresh air return on furnace necessary


you need a fresh air intake if you have stale air, cooking smells, odors, smoking or too much humidity in the Winter. If not then don't bother. Google Hoyme damper if you want to know more about a damper to shut it off in the off cycles.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 10:15 AM   #3
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Fresh air return on furnace necessary


the fresh air is there because the builder felt they build your house so tightly that it doesn't leak. this is good and bad because your house is energy efficient however if u take a shower, cook, or even just breath in your house the humidity will stay in your house and over time grow mold and mildew and cause paint to peel. the fresh air helps prevent that by reducing the relative humidity. Honeywell makes a very nice ventilation box that mixes the fresh air with already heated air before piping it into the return trunk. Using this makes it less of a shock to your furnace and better ensures the air will be heated properly and efficiently.
http://yourhome.honeywell.com/home/P...ummaryList.htm
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 10:22 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,415
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Fresh air return on furnace necessary


Modular home? is that the same as a mobile home? The building code in Canada says that all new homes need a fresh air pipe into the RA duct as they are all very tight nowadays and the code just changed to you must have a basic HRV.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Heil Furnace problem - is is the undersized vent? mpmusicny HVAC 8 11-20-2012 12:47 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 02:24 AM
Cold air return grill at furnace intake Zeke2112 HVAC 6 11-20-2009 06:41 AM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.