Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2008, 05:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

Fresh air intake vent


I'm finishing my basement and I have a fresh air intake just hanging in the middle of my utility room. It's a full-size HVAC vent pipe and it lets in a LOT of cold air. Can I redirect it so that it runs directly to my furnace's cold air return and maybe set up another, smaller pipe to let air in for the clothes dryer?

Topher23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 05:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 37
Default

Fresh air intake vent


No, you need it for a water heater and for your furnace if it 80% efficiency.

gena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 06:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Fresh air intake vent


Okay, I understand that all of those appliances require combustion air - but does it need to be an 8 inch vent? I was reading on askthebuilder.com that you can use a 4 inch vent in most cases. I was also reading in Home Depot's DIY book that US building code doesn't require a fresh air intake, although Canada's does. Has that changed in the past year or 2?
Topher23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 11:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 37
Default

Fresh air intake vent


Well, 8 combustion air intake definitely is too big, unless they figured out it for the kitchen hood also.
gena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 04:09 PM   #5
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

Fresh air intake vent


Don't get fresh air and combustion air mixed up. Fresh air is for the living area and usually goes into the return air. Combustion air is the air that the furnace and water heater need to burn properly. Combustion air would be needed with any kind of furnace and water heater in any country. The combustion air is sized by how many BTU's your appliances are rated at. We would not know if 8" is right or not unless you give us this information. It should NOT be tied into your return air. It should be dumped into the furnace room or if the house has enough air it can be drawn from the inside. I would assume that you have a sealed mechanical room which is why they brought the air in from the outside.
hvac122 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 04:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,569
Default

Fresh air intake vent


Quote:
Originally Posted by gena View Post
No, you need it for a water heater and for your furnace if it 80% efficiency.
Why would you state this based on the little info provided in Tophers first post?
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 06:14 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MI
Posts: 37
Default

Fresh air intake vent


I just admitted that he has a water heater. I thought that this kind of equipment exists in any American house, so I’m deeply sorry if you don’t have one.
gena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 08:12 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Fresh air intake vent


Do you have a fireplace in the home?
If so, that would be the make-up air for the firplace.

Redparis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIR VENT SHINGLE VENT ll Docfletcher Roofing/Siding 8 06-04-2011 09:05 AM
Where is the toilet vent?!?!? domgbrown Plumbing 4 01-11-2008 06:33 PM
Yoke vent for water closet kenlog Plumbing 4 07-13-2007 06:34 PM
help me solve this mystery please lindaberrien Roofing/Siding 17 06-12-2007 01:06 AM
Bathroom Vent Not Vented to Outside / Would need to vent through flat roof House_Amuck HVAC 5 03-30-2007 09:57 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.