Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2010, 07:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

fresh air intake requirements


hi all,
i'm getting a hi-efficiency Heil furnace installed to replace an old unit. it's in the garage. do i need to take fresh air from outside, or can i use the garage air? we're in the temperate NW.
thanks,
sriegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 07:40 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

fresh air intake requirements


This depends on the size of the garage & what is required in your area. Your installer should know the requirments for your area & your situation. In my area. no outside air is required if the garage area is large enough. If it's a 90 % furnace. there should be a pipe for combustion air & 1 for exhaust

Last edited by kenmac; 09-27-2010 at 07:43 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 07:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

fresh air intake requirements


thanks,
well, my old house used both intake and exhaust, but it was in my finished basement. i'm just wondering cuz he said we'd just unhook the old exhaust and that would supply enough combustion air. i've got about 550 square feet of attached garage. if it's strictly a volume requirement, i'm okay with it. i wasn't sure if it's a strict requirement for 90+ furnaces.
sriegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:08 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

fresh air intake requirements


xxx combustion air per xxx BTU. I like to use both pipes 1 for exhaust the other for combustion air. Some use single ( a pipe within a pipe ) which does the same thing
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

fresh air intake requirements



found it in the installation manual. we'll make sure we give 'er enough air.
thanks again for the help.
sriegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:25 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,330
Default

fresh air intake requirements


There may be some local code requirements as to how high off the floor it has to sit. Hopefully the installer checks them out. Has to do with explosive fumes at floor level if there is a gasoline leak etc. A 2 pipe system would be safer.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 08:44 PM   #7
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

fresh air intake requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Has to do with explosive fumes at floor level if there is a gasoline leak etc. .


We had that problem here until some manfactures starting enclosing the blower motor compartment
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2010, 09:03 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,330
Default

fresh air intake requirements


If he does any wood working or dusty work in the garage I would recommend the 2 pipe system so it stays cleaner inside the furnace. And a sealed air filter box. A 2 pipe system is safer as no fumes or dust can enter the burner box.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fresh air intake for furnace Red Squirrel HVAC 6 05-21-2010 09:32 PM
Fresh air intake damper - Open or Closed? dtran HVAC 7 01-06-2009 05:30 AM
Fresh Air Intake for new boiler? nperkins HVAC 14 12-30-2008 02:59 PM
Fresh Air Intake Location? AustinDIY HVAC 3 05-01-2008 09:37 AM
Fresh air intake vent Topher23 HVAC 7 02-26-2008 08:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.