Fresh Air Intake Location? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2008, 11:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Fresh Air Intake Location?


I was inspecting my ducts for leakage and found something disturbing. My plenum is in a closet in the garage. Above my plenum closet (in the attic) there is a vent pipe for the furnace that makes its way out to the roof. Fine, looks good. Also, there is a metal pipe that creates an opening between the closet that houses the plenum and the attic. The plenum closet is also located opposite an interior wall where there is a grate for the return air. What is alarming is that the pipe to the attic (About a 8" pipe) is drawing attic air while the unit is running. I think this is intended to be how fresh air is introduced into the system, but shouldn't it be vented to the roof?

Advertisement

AustinDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 10:13 AM   #2
Member
 
coolmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: jersey
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Fresh Air Intake Location?


could it be just for adding fresh air directly into the mechanical room for fresh air combustion for the 80% furnace. this setup would not be tyed directly to the duct it self. If it is connected directly to the RETURN side of the duct then they may added the 8" to bring in more return air as well as fresh air. yes the pipe should go to the out side. 8" is i think to big but dont no the size of the equipment. normally 6" is enough for fresh air but bring in to much just make the a/c work that much harder.

Advertisement

coolmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 05:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sringfield, Oh
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Fresh Air Intake Location?


Code:
 
 I think this is intended to be how fresh air is introduced into the system, but shouldn't it be vented to the roof?
It sounds like combustion air for the furnace and no it does not have to be vented thru the roof. You should have some kind of vents in the roof and in your soffits to allow fresh air in the attic so it doesn't have to go thru the roof. Fresh air make-up for a home is another animal altogether and it is usually tied to your ductwork.
sgthvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2008, 10:37 AM   #4
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Fresh Air Intake Location?


As said above this is for combustion air. That is air for the furnace to breath while heating as flames need oxygen. Sounds like it is installed OK. Fresh air is something different. It would be tied to the return air to bring fresh air into your house. These are two seperate issues and can not be tied together.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh air intake vent Topher23 HVAC 7 02-26-2008 09:12 PM
L/R Drain bath/shower over center drain location in floor? tigerbalm2424 Plumbing 2 12-04-2007 02:26 PM
Air Intake vents....do I need them in basement? yummy mummy HVAC 7 09-21-2007 03:55 PM
Whole House Fan near Intake? bluepost22 HVAC 1 08-31-2007 06:40 PM
Filter For Air Intake For Central Ac bobo General DIY Discussions 3 05-17-2005 04:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts