Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2011, 11:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

Fresh Air Intake for High Efficiency Furnaces


I am a homeowner in New Jersey who recently had a Carrier Infinity ICS Modulating Gas Furnace (model # 58mvc) installed. In these types of furnaces the exhaust is vented outside via a PVC pipe. What about the Fresh Air Intake? My contractor has not vented it outside but left it inside. The furnace is located in my work shop area. Is this allowable or isn't it against best practices (or even code)? Case in point, by leaving it in the shop and there is a gas leak, or saw dust and other impurities get sucked in, could there be problems?

rdes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:25 PM   #2
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

Fresh Air Intake for High Efficiency Furnaces


Some models can use inside air but I run them all outside. I don't like using indoor air as it will cause problems. Look in your installation manual to see the rules for venting that furnace.

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 12:36 PM   #3
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

Fresh Air Intake for High Efficiency Furnaces


Hello and welcom HVAC122 to the best darn DIY'r site on the web.

I did briefly look through the attached manual and did not find a specific requirement for combustion air coming from the outside, but, it is always a good idea to do so, from the aspect of maintaining a balanced condition in the house.

http://www.docs.hvacpartners.com/idc.../58mvc-5si.pdf

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 03:29 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Default

Fresh Air Intake for High Efficiency Furnaces


It is a BAD idea to take air from any workshop especially if there is sawdust or any kind of fumes. Sawdust will get in the burners and cause bad combustion which could foul up and damage your heat exchanger. Apparently you cannot single pipe/take combustion air from your workshop according to p27 in the manual above (ventilated combustion air option in the manual). It must be taken from a WELL ventilated area with a good supply of air free from your living spaces. Ie it can take its air from a crawlspace or attic but not a living area or workshop. Won't meet code where I am and the inspectors go thru the install manual with a fine tooth comb and would shut you down.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 04-08-2011 at 03:41 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fresh Air Intake for new boiler? nperkins HVAC 15 09-15-2014 05:02 PM
Fresh Air Intake for Furnace Room. Help Needed samantha.77 HVAC 28 10-09-2012 09:53 AM
sizing holes for exhaust and fresh air intake pipes rpclayman Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 01-21-2011 08:58 AM
High efficiency furnace size to use 2inch vent and intake SFX Group HVAC 4 11-07-2010 10:12 AM
Fresh air intake vent Topher23 HVAC 7 02-26-2008 08:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.